For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2018
Accepted Solution

lsan trafic

Hi

I have a routed backbone with DCX's as edge switches.

Is there any impact on creating all zones as LSAN zones even if the wwn is only accessing local resources?

Best regards

External Moderator
Posts: 5,645
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: lsan trafic

@JANTON

 

can you please specified a bit more ?

 

--->>>......creating all zones as LSAN zones....

 

do you have IR Licence in DCX and want to create LS ? or what is you goal ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2018

Re: lsan trafic

Tnx for the fast reply

It is really just to zone the same way for all zones independ of it is a local or remote zone.

Is there a performance impact - on zoning all zones as lsan zones?

Best regards

External Moderator
Posts: 5,645
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: lsan trafic

@JANTON

 

as per my experience....

 

feew years ago by a large Electricity Client, during a Datacenter Migration / Consolidations, and due some restriction, I've create ONE LSAN on Single Port old Brocade 7500 4Gb platforms connected to DCX.

 

Server was phisically located o Site_B, DCX was located on Site_A both connected via WDM

 

whe move / snap-shoted the OS ( AIX ) from B to A and boot the Server trough the single Port

 

The single LSAN_zone had around 650 WWN.

 

Is not a joke!

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: lsan trafic

Hello,

 

be aware that there is a limit of LSAN zones and slots for proxy devices in fabric.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Regular Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-20-2018

Re: lsan trafic

The lsan tag is there to inform the switch that this is a routed zone.

 

I'm not sure what the impact would be, but I would guess there could be several:

 

It's routed. So it attempts to import the device from outside the fabric. As it resides inside the fabric, this could be one impact.

 

Another impact could be that this lsan zone does not exist outside the fabric. This could cause issues within the Backbone.

 

Another impact would be identification during troubleshooting.

 

Another impact is that lsan zone do *not* allow aliases. WWPNs *only*!

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: lsan trafic

I've remember one situation with 3 DC routed coniguration and more than 2500 LSAN zones. Routers rebooted randomly as the memory of switchs run out. 

 

@ussenterprise-bda

 

This is not really true, if the all members of LSAN zone will be in same fabric the PID will be not expored. LSAN will beave as regular zone.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Super Contributor
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: lsan trafic

Hello,

 

with the command:

 

fcrlsancount

you may show actual treshold settings for FC router.

 

with command :

 

fcrresourceshow

you may check how many resources is currently occupied

 

 

switch:admin> fcrresourceshow
Daemon Limits:
                     Max Allowed         Currently Used
                     ----------------------------------
LSAN Zones:                3000                 108
LSAN Devices:             10000                  81
Proxy Device Slots:       10000                  25

For max count as per admin guide:

 

     By default,
     this limit is set to 3000, which is the minimum. This
     command lets you create more LSANs on your edge fabric, up
     to 5000, if needed to support additional devices.  The
     maximum number of supported LSAN devices is 10,000.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2018

Re: lsan trafic

I still have a way to go to 3000 zones:

 

None lsan zones:

ssh switch_1 "zoneshow" | grep -vi lsan | grep zone | sort -u | wc -l
198

 

lsan zones:
ssh switch_1 "zoneshow" | grep -i lsan | grep zone | sort -u | wc -l
952

 

all zones:

ssh switch_1 "zoneshow" | grep zone | sort -u | wc -l
1150

 

But it would be nice to clear out the impact on performance for using lsan zones.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.