For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Management Software

Reply
Broadcom
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

BNA 14.0.1 GA has been published to the usual location.

 

From the release notes, under "New Enhancements":

    "Network OS platform support

         Network OS 7.0"

 

Lots of other RFEs in there, mostly SAN-related, but some might be relevant to you, e.g. MAPS policy editing.

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

Dear Lindsay,

 

I know, one of the TAC engineers was kind enough to provide me with the installation package a few hours "earlier".

 

I did upgrade succesfully from 12.4.4 to 14.0.1 but I'm still not able to add devices running NOS7.0 to BNA.

 

The TAC engineer is looking into it, I can always share ticket number with you via MP.

 

Best regards.

Broadcom
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

What happens when you try to add those devices?

 

My first guest would be SNMP mis configuration. Since 6.x it's been a little more complicated, with the need to configure views. 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

Hello Lindsay,

 

Well, BNA server tries to discover the device but ends up showing the following error message :

 

"A.B.C.D did not respond to SNMP".

 

SNMP configuration is pretty straight forward :

 

snmp-server contact xyz@xyz.com
snmp-server location "xyz"
snmp-server sys-descr fab02-par02
snmp-server enable trap
snmp-server community ABC
snmp-server host 172.16.49.211 ABC
 version 2c
 severity-level Info
 use-vrf mgmt-vrf
!
snmp-server host 172.16.49.44 ABC
 version 2c
 severity-level Info
 use-vrf mgmt-vrf
!
snmp-server host 172.16.49.50 ABC
 version 2c
 severity-level Info
 use-vrf mgmt-vrf
!

 

It's not an IP connectivity issue as I'm able to reach the fabric from the BNA server. It's a four node ethernet fabric running as logical-chassis. Result is the same if I try polling either virtual-fabric mgmt IP or physical switchs' mgmt IPs.

 

I had a case (#1602619) opened regarding this issue but the TAC engineer said it would be solved with BNA 14.0.1.

 

I appreciate all the help you can bring to solve this issue.

 

Best regards.

Broadcom
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

Yes, as I thought, you need to configure SNMP view settings. See here for more info https://lkhill.com/brocade-vdx-snmp-changes/

 

You can test this using snmpwalk. Until you get SNMP working, the BNA version doesn't matter. 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: BNA v14.1 ?

Dear Lindsay,

 

Thanks for the prompt response, that did the trick. I was able to succesfully add the fabric to BNA.

 

Best regards.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.