DX Unified Infrastructure Management

• 1.  Looking for a Perl Example Script for Net_connect

Posted Jun 11, 2012 07:26 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Nimsoft and we have recently gotten it installed and running. I am  now trying to create scripts to add servers automatically to net_connect (among other probes but want to start with net_connect). We are using Perl. Does anyone have an example script I might be able to take a look at?

Thank you in advance.

Stuart H.

Carinet NOC Technician

• 2.  Re: Looking for a Perl Example Script for Net_connect

Posted Jun 15, 2012 08:34 PM

Or if anyone has the Nimbus syntax for perl.  Documentation on perl API seems to be scarce.

• 3.  Re: Looking for a Perl Example Script for Net_connect

Posted Jun 16, 2012 12:38 AM

Your best source for sample Perl code is probably the Code Wizard. It is especially applicable if you are writing a custom probe in Perl, which is probably not true in your case. But you can still see what libraries to use and such.

Invoking a callback from Perl should look something like this:

my $pds_out = pdsCreate();
    pdsPut_PCH($pds_out, 'name',    'cdm'     );
    pdsPut_PCH($pds_out, 'section', '/setup'  );
    pdsPut_PCH($pds_out, 'key',     'loglevel');
    pdsPut_PCH($pds_out, 'value',   '5'       );

my($rc, $pds_in) = nimNamedRequest($robot_addr, 'probe_config_set', $pds_out, 10);

if ( $rc ) {
        print "ERROR updating config: ", nimError2Txt($rc), "\n";
    } else {
        print "Config updated\n";
    }

• 4.  Re: Looking for a Perl Example Script for Net_connect

Posted Jun 17, 2012 05:53 PM

That's the confusing part, where is code wizard? We have a linux setup for our Hubs and the only windows machine is for Infrasrtucture Manager.

As of right now we are not making any custom probes. although, we will in the future. Right now, we just want to get servers added to net_connect automatically using perl scripts. With the API information I think we will be able to figure all the rest out.