DX Infrastructure Management

View Only

CA UIM Office Hours Transcript - July 2015 

Jul 07, 2015 04:53 PM

Chat transcript from CA UIM Office Hours: A Live Online Chat [July 2015] which took place on July 7, 2015.

Aditya to Everyone: Hi All, Good Morning

Melissa Potvin to Everyone: Hello Everyone! Thank you for joining office hours today for UIM. We will get started at the top of the hour. Thank you!

Melanie Giuliani to Everyone: Hi everyone - thanks for joining! We will be getting started in just a few minutes.

Melanie Giuliani to Everyone: Alright - let's get started! Please start asking your questions in the chat box now. Please be sure to select "everyone" before sending your questions.

Aditya to Everyone: Can someone briefly explain for which purpose CA UIM is used for? As I am new to this Product I am looking for documentation for CA UIM and I am going to start using this from 22nd of July

Nghia Van to Everyone: is there an effort to allow clustering of the primary nms server?  Use case is to run more of an active solution and/or provide ease of scalability

from Dane to Everyone: When is UIM 8.3 going to be released GA?

Klaus to Everyone: NFA Integration architecture?

Jason Allen to Everyone: @Aditya - CA UIM is used for monitoring of IT infrastructure (servers, networks, etc.).  Here are a couple of useful links:  http://www.ca.com/us/opscenter/ca-unified-infrastructure-management.aspx and https://wiki.ca.com/display/UIMPGA

David LeDeaux to Everyone: @Dane 8.3 is going to be release at the end of the month.  We've changed the release schedule a little to help us get more fixes in and give more time for testing.

Jason Allen to Everyone: @Nghia - you can run the primary hub on an active/passive cluster currently - sounds like you're looking more for a "built in" solution with the hub itself for hub clustering, is that right?