Clarity PPM1

Expand all | Collapse all

14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)

Jump to Best Answer
  • 1.  14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)

    Posted 10-10-2016 01:01 PM

    We are upgrading to 14.3 (from 14.2) and I am looking into some of the new functionality offered in 14.3. It appears that when you are converting an idea to a project (without a template), and select Copy Team, the team resources (or roles) are added to the project team tab, but the allocations are behaving strangely.  If the team is not allocated a detail level on the idea (instead just a default percentage), then it appears to copy over fine.  If you do enter allocations at a detail level (by month or by week or whatever) when they are copied they are either the wrong allocation, or the right allocation amount but the wrong dates.  Has anyone experienced this behavior or am I missing something?



  • 2.  Re: 14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)
    Best Answer

    Posted 10-17-2016 02:41 PM

    There is one defect it sounds like you may be running into: CLRT-80172 that is fixed in 15.1. Below are the details, if this doesn't seem to be the one you are facing, let us know.

     

    Steps to Reproduce:

    1. Create an Idea with the following dates: 4/4/16 - 4/8/16
    2. Add a resource to the team
    3. On the Staff Member Properties page of the resource added on Step2, set the Default Allocation % to 0% (reproducible with any other value as well)
    4. Add the following Planned Allocation Segment:
    4/6-4/8 : 50% (4hours x3 days = 12 allocation hours)
    5. Notice that a default allocation segment will get created. This segment will be inheriting the Default Allocation % (0%) for the following dates, and will be read only:
    4/4-4/5: 0% (This is a 2 day segment.)
    6. Submit the Idea for Approval, Approve the Idea
    7. Click on the Convert button on the Idea properties page to convert the Idea to a Project
    8. On the Select Investment Type page, select the 'Copy Team' checkbox.
    9. On the Create Project page, leave the start and Finish dates as they are. (They will be the same as the dates on the Idea by default.)
    10. Click on Save
    11. Go to the Team detail tab

    Expected Results: The default allocation segment to be the same as they were on the Idea. Allocation to be 4 hours a day for 4/6, 4/7 and 4/8.

    Actual Results: The duration of the 0% allocation segment has changed from 2 days to 4 days on the Project. The Project Allocation segments are as follows: 4/4-4/7 at 0% (this is now 4 days) and only the remaining day, 4/8 has an allocation of 50% (4 hours total).

    Workaround:  Manually create a segment with the same allocation % as the Default Allocation % for that team member on the Idea before converting it.



  • 3.  Re: 14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)

    Posted 10-17-2016 02:50 PM

    Kristin,

     

    Thanks, we will test out that scenario to see if that is indeed the case.  Regardless, is there a way to suppress the "Copy Team" checkbox when you convert an idea?  We've got a custom process in place that users can execute from the Project object that will copy the team and allocations from the orginating idea.  So, until we upgrade to 15.1, we wouldn't want users checking this box and creating team/allocations that are inaccurate.  Please let me know, and I will let you know on your advice as well.

     

    -Peter



  • 4.  Re: 14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)

    Posted 10-18-2016 08:26 AM

    Looks like you were right Kristin, that is what is happening.  We've noted that it's fixed in 15.1 so we look forward to that upgrade when we get there.  In the meantime, my question still stands, is there a way to prevent users from using this new functionality introduced with 14.3, since there is a defect, until we upgrade to 15.1?

     

    Thanks!



  • 5.  Re: 14.3 and Copy Team (Convert Idea to Project)

    Posted 10-18-2016 10:21 AM

    The one option would be to update the process to change the "Copy Team" Default to 'No' (Unchecked) instead of 'Yes'. There's a process "Idea Review" that comes with the PMO Accelerator that has this set in the Convert Idea to Project action as an example.

     

    Unfortunately, there's no way out of the box to hide this field or make it grayed out.