Symantec Access Management

View Only
  • 1.  Usage of SiteMinder vs Federation Manager

Posted Aug 19, 2013 03:34 PM
    Experts,

I'm new to the CA Suite of products and I'm trying to differentiate the capabilities. I apologize in advance as I think that this question should be easily answered yet, despite flipping back and forth through all the documentation, it continues to confuse me...

How is Federation Manager different than SiteMinder? It seems like its own distinct product that has a set of capabilities that are already included as part of SiteMinder's Federation Security Services. Since SiteMinder alone seems to be able to act as a SAML 2.0 Service Provider and Identity Provided, what use case does Federation Manager satisfy as 1) a standalone product 2) integrated with SiteMinder?

I've found separate documentation for each, and the Federation Manager docs are very specific about it being installed separate from SiteMinder. These docs are from 2010 though so I have a suspicion right now that it was once a separate product that is now rolled into SiteMinder. In fact, the Federation Manager documented integration with SiteMinder seems to lend itself towards this. Can someone confirm?

Thanks in advance!

Federation Manager - https://support.ca.com/cadocs/0/CA%20Federation%20Manager%20r12%201-ENU/Bookshelf.html
    SiteMinder - https://support.ca.com/cadocs/0/CA%20SiteMinder%20r12%205-ENU/Bookshelf.html

• 2.  RE: Usage of SiteMinder vs Federation Manager
    Best Answer

Posted Aug 20, 2013 08:35 AM
    When CA came out with SiteMinder R12.0 they also introduced Federation Manager.
    I'm not sure what the benefits were over SiteMinder, however Ibeleive mostof its features were rolled i in R12.5 and R12.51

I would check with your CA Account Team.

If you are unsure of who those people are, CA Support can help find them for you, and answer this in the mean time.

• 3.  RE: Usage of SiteMinder vs Federation Manager

Broadcom Employee