Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  GUP Updating

Posted Aug 30, 2012 05:56 PM

Hi, I'm fairly new to Symantec Endpoint Protection,so I had a few questions I was hoping someone could clarify.

1. Is it possible for a GUP to update a GUP?

2. If a GUP can update another GUP and all the GUPs are out of date, if all GUPs are told to update at the same time, will a GUP query another GUP and wait for it to finish before updating from that GUP?

3.  Is a GUP supposed to follow the LiveUpdate policy for when it updates because I've seen GUPs update at times other than what is specified in the LiveUpdate policy?

4.  Is it best practice to use the inherited policy from the Main section for all the sites in different locations?

5.  With GUP updating, if I have 3 subnets at one location, such as 192.168.1.x, 192.168.2.x, and 192.168.3.x, but I only have a GUP on the 192.168.1.x subnet, will that GUP server update clients on the other 2 subnets despite having a multiple GUP list but no backup GUP specified because they all exist at that location?

• 2.  RE: GUP Updating

Posted Aug 30, 2012 09:17 PM

1. In theory yes, however you can't have multiple GUPs on the same subnet. 

2. See response to 1 but in theory, the server can handle X amount of connections at the same time

3. How is it configured?

4. Not necessarily, depends on the needs of your site. They may need different policies.

5. Yes, as long as you specify in the location awareness the correct subnet ranges.

• 3.  RE: GUP Updating

Posted Aug 30, 2012 10:32 PM

1. What happens if there are multiple GUPs on the same subnet?

3. The LiveUpdate policy is set for once per day, after noon, with a 7 hour window. I see GUPs updating in the morning or even before noon, at random.

5.  Would this require breaking the policy inheritance to be able to specify the proper subnets for each location?