Deployment Solution

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Migration User

Migration UserDec 22, 2008 08:38 AM

• 1.  Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 22, 2008 06:06 AM

We just upgraded to 6.9 SP1 and installed WinPE 2.1 a few days ago. All testing with the old WinPE 1.6 boot and imaging still works fine, so I started creating a job with WinPE 2.1 to test but it just has not worked. It loads up to the point of the OS being 'up' and the DOS box on the screen, but I get this:

X:\Windows\system32>wpeinit

it sits there for about 7 or 8 seconds then...

X:\Windows\system32>

with a flashing cursor...like it's done and not moving forward. At this point, i'm not sure why it's dropped out (it's not frozen, i can type in commands). I'm no expert with WinPE....has anyone see this or enlighten me as to what i'm missing? :-)

Thanks!

• 2.  RE: Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 22, 2008 08:38 AM
    Did you recreate your boot files?

• 3.  RE: Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 22, 2008 08:41 AM
    Yes, i created a new boot option from scratch just in case - just for 2.1...i didnt want to overwrite my 1.6 in case it didnt work. Thankfully, that was the right move :-)

• 4.  RE: Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 24, 2008 01:38 AM
    just in case that was misconstrued, no, 2.1 still doesn't work - but my old 1.6 one still does. that's what i meant...LOL

• 5.  RE: Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 24, 2008 03:14 AM
    I saw something similar when a mapped drive was in use, but not the exact error.

• 6.  RE: Imaging issues with WinPE 2.1 and DS 6.9 SP1

Posted Dec 24, 2008 03:16 AM

we don't actually get an error. It just sits at the dos window - the prompt is active and I can type stuff, it's like whatever the next command for it to kick off isn't there.