SD7 MR1 Stability and the Future of SD

Migration User

Migration UserFeb 23, 2010 04:38 PM

Aryanos

AryanosMar 06, 2010 04:22 PM

• 1.  SD7 MR1 Stability and the Future of SD

Posted Feb 23, 2010 09:30 AM
    Hi everyone,

I've been tasked with configuring SD7 for deployment across the company's user base. Feature wise it seems ok even though I'm new to the Altiris applications. Obviously they are some fundamental differences between 7 and 6.5. My issue is the stability of SD7 MR1. On a number of occassions while submitting tickets using the advance mode errors occur. Other times when selecting additional contacts the description information is lost. Admittedly MR1 is a big improvement over the original release but stability or availabilty (for lack of a better word) is still an issue. Using SD7 MR1 it is obvious that this solution is not yet complete and some may argue that it is not production ready. Why I do not expect a new release or any release to be 100% perfect one does expect a high degree of quality.

My main issue is not rolling out the platform to the users, but rather rolling out a platform that can not provide the high level of support services the users have come to enjoy from the previous Altiris HelpDesk release. Initially users will only be accessing SD via emails (inbound email monitoring) until the web protion of this service is production ready. As a result I have a few questions with respect to SD and its release cycle.

It would be helpful for me (and prudent for Symantec) to identify as accurately as possible dates for future relases and I would be very interested in future release cycles and solution roadmaps. While new features are important more importantly at this stage is the bugs or unintended features that have bed corrected. So my question is;

Can I get a road map for the SD7 platform with expected dates and bug fixes as well as intended features?