Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  SEP 12.1 Repetitious emails

Posted Jan 05, 2012 02:25 PM

First off let me start by saying that I am new to the Symantec Endpoint Protection Management Console. In our environment we have email notifications being sent out to a group of people for Viruses that are found.  A single risk event is sent out to the group with all of the pertinent details.  Often times the risk is cleaned by deletion or appropriate action has been taken on the client to remediate the risk within the first hour of the first message being generated but the emails from the server keep coming every hour (to the minute) for about eight hours and report the same exact risk and event time/date.  How do I configure my notification to stop sending the additional messages?  When I check the management console it tells me that there are no unacknowledged events.

Thanks in advance!

• 2.  RE: SEP 12.1 Repetitious emails

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 05, 2012 08:24 PM

have you set the damper period?

• 3.  RE: SEP 12.1 Repetitious emails

Trusted Advisor
    Posted Jan 06, 2012 02:01 PM

Hello,

What version of SEP 12.1 are you carrying??

The Latest Version of SEP 12.1 RU1 (12.1.1000) is taking care of a similar issue:

A notification for "new risk detected" is triggered repeatedly, despite longer damper setting
    Fix ID: 
    2497657, 2212158
    Symptom: The damper setting on a notification for new risks is configured for a specific time value. The first risk triggers the notification correctly. Subsequent risks before the damper period time incorrectly trigger the notification.
    Solution: The damper option on notifications was modified to prevent this issue.

Reference: http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH174565

Incase, if you are carrying the SEP 12.1 RTM version, please migrate to the Latest version of SEP 12.1 RU1 (12.1.1000). http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH174545

Hope that helps!!

• 4.  RE: SEP 12.1 Repetitious emails
    Best Answer