Easytrieve

View Only
  • 1.  Has anyone SUCCESSFULLY called bpxwdyn from Easytrieve

Posted Jan 31, 2017 07:17 AM

I am looking to call bpxwdyn from Easytrieve.

The IBM manuals state the in calling this routine from a non-REXX program, one needs to have R0 = 0.

I have constructed the calling parameters based on the manual, but I am getting a return code 20, parameter error.

The only thing I can't confirm is that when Easytrieve isues the call, R0 is zero.

If you have successfully called bpxwdyn from Easytrieve, would you mind sharing how you did it?

Thanks,

Chuck

• 2.  Re: Has anyone SUCCESSFULLY called bpxwdyn from Easytrieve

Posted Feb 14, 2017 01:30 PM

I have gotten it to work.I just did a dynamic allocation I have never used BPXWDYNbefore this. Perhaps if I can see the parm. Also do you have RETURNS on your call statement?

• 3.  Re: Has anyone SUCCESSFULLY called bpxwdyn from Easytrieve

Posted Feb 14, 2017 01:48 PM

I thank you for your feedback, however, everyone can successfully do a dynamic allocation.

It’s actually the simplest function to execute. It requires a single parameter and, I suspect though haven’t tried, it can probably be done like this:

// EXEC PGM=BPXWDYN,PARM=’allocation parameters….’

However, try doing an INFO call.

Not quite as simple as doing an allocation request.

I have, since posting, been able to do everything I need to do from within an Easytrieve set of parameters.

Unfortunately, since the IBM calling convention does not identify the contents of register 0, Easytrieve support does not agree with me that R0 should be 0 on a call, so they have determined that their not passing R0 to BPXQDYN as zero does not constitute a bug.

When you try to do an INFO call, R0 needs to be passed with a value of zero in order for BPXWDYN to recognize the passed parameter format.