CA 7 Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Any insights on how REST API is being utilized?

Posted Jan 31, 2022 10:43 AM
    I am curious about any ideas of how the REST API  (for CA7 r12.1) is being used or will be used.  I took the introductory course to get an idea and I have to admit I feel like I am missing something.  We already have Web Client so I am wondering if REST API would bring any other advantages.  My main concern is due to our environment and how much effort would be involved to get the REST API up and running.  In other words...is it worth it for us?  Does the cost benefit ratio make sense? 
    So, with that in mind...what are people using REST API for?  How are you using it?
    I should also say that my background is mostly mainframe so if anyone starts talking about the distributed/server world please use **** terms.   Just being honest.  lol
    I really appreciate any feedback.

• 2.  RE: Any insights on how REST API is being utilized?

Posted Feb 08, 2022 03:21 PM
    Follow up:  Now that I have done some basic research on REST API I have a better understanding of what it is.  My question still remains...
    What are people doing with REST API?  How is it being used?  Not looking for details necessarily but some general ideas would be helpful.  Thanks!

• 3.  RE: Any insights on how REST API is being utilized?
    Best Answer

Posted Feb 17, 2022 09:45 AM
    Hello Dana, Hope all is well !! 

CA 7 REST APIs integrate the Mainframe with distributed systems for the purpose of Automation, Orchestration, and Integration of Workloads. Some of the use cases I have seen from other customers are below: