Panvalet

View Only
  • 1.  Hi, I am new to CA-Panvalet and have given a task to write a REXX code to browse a Panvalet Source PDS, I have tried but unable tpo access a PAnvalet PDS. Could you pllease help me on this?

Posted Dec 28, 2015 11:16 PM

Hi All,

I just  want to know that is there any procedure or function which can be used to browse/access the Panvalet members using the panvalet PDS. IF anyone has any idea on this, it would be really helpful. Thanks!!

• 2.  Re: Hi, I am new to CA-Panvalet and have given a task to write a REXX code to browse a Panvalet Source PDS, I have tried but unable tpo access a PAnvalet PDS. Could you pllease help me on this?
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Dec 29, 2015 11:52 AM

Hi,

The Panvalet panlib is not a PDS but it is a proprietary dataset. You can copy panvalet members from the panlib over to a PDS. You can also browse the panvalet panlib using the Panvalet/ISPF interface.

I will need to find a REXX example, however it is easier to browse the panlib if you have the Panvalet/ISPF interface.

Best Regards,

Elayne 

• 3.  Re: Hi, I am new to CA-Panvalet and have given a task to write a REXX code to browse a Panvalet Source PDS, I have tried but unable tpo access a PAnvalet PDS. Could you pllease help me on this?

Posted Dec 29, 2015 01:45 PM

Hi Elayne,

Thanks for prompt response.Actually the requirement is to expand the copybooks or sub programs whenever user will place cursor on 'COPY' or 'CALL' verb in the main program and press specified PF key.

I have written the rexx code for the same; however it is only working on the PDS (DSORG=PO).I have tried to execute the same code with members maintained in Panvalet(***.PANB.SOURCE) , but its not working and getting abend as "Dataset is allocated to another job or user".

Please advise how should I proceed.Thanks!!