Layer7 API Management

View Only

Creating a new iOS app from scratch using Swift 3.0 and MAG/MAS SDK 1.3 - Part 1 

Jan 30, 2017 06:15 PM

Hello API community!

In this tutorial I'm going to show you how to build your own iOS app from scratch, using Swift 3.0 and the MAG/MAS SDK. This is going to be a very simple app that will register the device, challenge the user for credentials using the default SDK login screen, and make a GET HTTP request to read a JSON file, protected by the CA API Gateway using the Mobile API Gateway assertions. Before you keep going I'd like to say that I'm not a developer by any means. I'm just a very curious guy that likes to learn new things and also share what I learn from my experiences  That said, I encourage you to leave your comments and feedbacks suggesting any improvements, ok? I thank you in advance.

Although this is supposed to be a development tutorial, you can get your own app by only following the steps. Let's go through the requirements to execute this tutorial:

For this tutorial I'm going to be using my Docker MAS environment. So, let's get started!

Open up your Xcode and create a new project and select the Single View Application:

Chose a cool name for your new brand Swift app like so:

Make sure you select Swift as the language and then click Next.

Once we are not using the MAS Templates (MobileSDK.dmg) we have to do some extra stuff in order to get our app ready to support the MAS Framework. By the way, here you can find the official guide of how to prepare your iOS app to use the MAS Framework: iOS Guides | CA Mobile App Services  

Please, follow these steps in order to get your new app ready to use our mobile SDK:

1. Open info.plist.
2. At the end of the table, right-click Add Row.
3. Name the new row App Transport Security Settings
4. Set the type to Dictionary
5. Click + and add a sub line: Allow Arbitrary Loads
6. Set the type to Boolean.
7. Set the value to YES.
8. Right-click Add Row.