Layer7 API Management

View Only
  • 1.  Container Gateway Walkthrough Available?

Posted Feb 21, 2020 07:06 PM
    I have spent the entire day trying to determine how to stand up a Container Gateway v9.4 with Docker (for testing purposes) by going through the documentation but I cannot for the life of me figure out all the pieces and parts to make all the magic happen.

I have a Linux 7 server that I am working from in order to make this happen.

I have install Docker-CE although I am not 100% sure that is the correct docker platform that I should be using (i say this because i don't seem to have any type of docker-compose ability).
    I have docker pulled the caapim/gateway image but I do not know what to do with it at this point.

I know quite a bit about the Gateway OVA Virtual Appliance form factor with an embedded MySQL database and replication but I am very new to containers.

Is there a step by step process documented by anyone that could be used to help in my setup and evaluation of this Containerized version of the gateway?
    • Install docker on host machine 
      • specific yum or rpm commands would be helpful
    • install MySQL (or some other database) since there is no embedded DB with the container
      • again specific yum or rpm commands would be helpful
    • (as specific as possible) detailed configurations required prior to trying to run the container
      • there was something about a docker-compose.yml file and some high level details but nothing specific on what the values should equate too
    • docker run command or docker container run command to be used
      • I have tried various flavors of both of these commands but I either don't have the right options or the underlying .yml file above is what is getting in my way.