Symantec Access Management

View Only
  • 1.  AWS and SiteMinder

Posted Apr 18, 2016 10:38 AM

Hi Guys,

I have quick question about AWS and SiteMinder, I am new to AWS, but not SiteMinder.

I have the runbook for SiteMinder and AWS. Which gives more insight and knowledge on how to integrate AWS with SiteMinder.

If there is an application, I could leverage SiteMinder to provide authentication and authorization, however, if there is a windows server hosted virtually in AWS EC2, will the user be able to login using the internal org AD, through the roles provided?

How could we make the server hosted in AWS EC2 to use the AD users accounts to login to the server, instead of using the locally created accounts?

Please let me know, as this is very urgent.

• 2.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder

Posted Apr 18, 2016 01:02 PM

this might be silly, but considering the amount fo  acronym reuse i see, what does AWS stand for?

• 3.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Apr 18, 2016 01:14 PM

Amazon Web Services

• 4.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Apr 18, 2016 01:17 PM

Josh

Amazon webservices - hosting site 

• 5.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder

Posted Apr 18, 2016 01:27 PM

My thought from the title was Apache Web Server.

My thought from content was Amazon Web Services.

i remember Steve Lavioe (sp on the last name?) once saying "TLAs always require context"

i remember replying "and the context  for TLA there is?"

remember, the problem with [Three Letter] Acronyms is that overuse of acronyms means that until it's been expanded once, you cannot be positive. i wanted to be sure that i knew which one  was right or if it might mean something else, that we know what it means.

• 6.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Apr 18, 2016 01:29 PM

I just knew cause Christie said Amazon EC2 and that is there elastic compute cloud platform, but you are right, a lot of time acronyms are hard to understand!

• 7.  Re: AWS and SiteMinder