View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Problems setting "Alert Name" in the SNMP Connector

• 1.  Problems setting "Alert Name" in the SNMP Connector

Posted Mar 06, 2019 09:51 AM
    Edited by Jason McClellan Oct 14, 2022 09:08 AM
      |   view attached

Hi Everyone,

Please bear with me, but I'm very new to writing Policy code in XML.
    I'm trying to parse the alert content in the SNMP policy in order to enrich the alert, but am struggling to set the Alert Name.

Use case:
    varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.10 contains the detail I want to use e.g. "sample-inst" (see below trap extract), but I am unsure which internal SOI field I need to set:

<property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.10" value="sample-inst" />

I have tried setting various fields under Item and also Alert but none seem to make any difference and the alert gets displayed in the Console with a Name of "Unknown".

I suspect something else may also be wrong with the Policy as 5 or 6 different alerts have come through to the SNMP_Connector.log (varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.10), but I only see the one "Unknown" alert in the Console.

I am now stuck and would appreciate any guidance that can be provided.

I have attached my SNMP Policy and included the varbinds I'm pulling out below - many thanks in anticipation of any help provided.

varbinds:

<property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.10" value="sample-inst" />
    <property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.11" value="serviceCount|sample-inst|config-service:active" />
    <property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.12" value="sample-inst config-service service Total Active" />
    <property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.13" value="http://something" />
    <property name="varbind-1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.14" value="3" />

Attachment(s)

zip
    snmp_policy.xml.zip   1 KB 1 version

• 2.  Re: Problems setting "Alert Name" in the SNMP Connector

Posted Mar 06, 2019 10:00 AM

Quick update ...the additional alerts did eventually come through, it was just a delay :-)