Rally Software

View Only
  • 1.  Rally/Bitbucket Cloud integration

Posted Sep 24, 2019 06:54 PM
    Hello,

I am new to Rally and wanted to understand how the Rally/BitBucket Cloud integration works.  I found the documentation (https://docs.ca.com/en-us/ca-agile-central/saas/ca-agile-central-connector-bitbucket) but am not understanding why you need to install python, jenkins, etc. on your local machine to get this to work unless I am completely missing something.  If not, any more details steps and explanation would be helpful.

Thanks,
    Matt

• 2.  RE: Rally/Bitbucket Cloud integration
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 24, 2019 10:36 PM
    Hi Matt,

The integration uses a piece of middleware which is written in python.  Most people will run this using a scheduled job and the connector uses APIs on each platform to perform the data exchange.

As for Jenkins, it's not a required piece for BitBucket integration, however it dovetails very nicely into the whole defect management, version control, build system triad when you use our Jenkins connector. 

There's a video on Youtube that gives a great overview of how the system works.  It uses GitHub as the version control, and it's a bit dated as far as the Rally interface is concerned but the meat of it is very much relevant today.  You can find it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CsNtcPngsEg

• 3.  RE: Rally/Bitbucket Cloud integration

Posted Sep 25, 2019 08:55 AM
    Thanks so much for the clarification.

Does each developer need to have this connector on the machine?

Also, can you do a similar integration replacing Jenkins with Bamboo?

Thanks,
    Matt

• 4.  RE: Rally/Bitbucket Cloud integration

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 25, 2019 09:22 AM
    Hi Matt,