Rally Software

View Only
  • 1.  Rally QC Connector

Posted Nov 14, 2019 05:21 PM
    Edited by Anil Wadhwani Nov 14, 2019 05:22 PM
    I have been using the Rally QC connector for a few months now to transfer the user stories from Rally to the requirements folder in QC.
    We have instances where a user story is made as a copy of an existing user story.
    When I run the connector, these user stories are not transferred from Rally to QC.
    I did observe the value in the cross link field was also copied when the original user story was copied, however even removing the value in this cross link field does not solve the problem and I still can't move these user stories.

Can someone please provide suggestion to resolve this issue?

------------------------------
    QA Analyst

• 2.  RE: Rally QC Connector

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Nov 19, 2019 06:33 PM
    When the connector runs, one of the ways it determines if a work item needs to be copied to the other system is whether the external ID field is populated or not.  When you copy a user story that has already been synched, you would be copying the external ID field as well.  So as part of your workflow, you'd need to empty that field out.

Now, It may not work to go back and do this retroactively because there is a time file that is stored that also keeps track of the last time that the connector ran and it may ignore work items created after that time.  Off the top of my head I don't remember if that only applies to updates or new work items or both.  

It's possible to move the date back in the timefile, but I'm afraid you'd get duplicate updates by doing so.  Instead I would say the ideal scenario there would be to create a temporary copy of your configuration.  Then, identify the work items that need to be synched and add them to a copy selector in that config to ensure you're getting precisely the items you're wanting to retroactively synch over to QC.

• 3.  RE: Rally QC Connector