DX Unified Infrastructure Management

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

How to create a new metric - related to RESTmon probe

• 1.  How to create a new metric - related to RESTmon probe

Posted Dec 01, 2020 01:47 PM
    Hi: I'm studying the BC examples for the RESTmon probe.  Some of them appear to create new metrics (e.g. Tandberg MXP Video Out jitter) which makes sense.  However, I can't see where Metric Type is derived from, or where I can find a list/schema of all presently defined metric types.
    Is there a documented list somewhere?  Is the JSON that's loaded as part of the RESTmon probe configuration enough to create a completely new metric, please?
    Thanks.

• 2.  RE: How to create a new metric - related to RESTmon probe

Posted Dec 01, 2020 04:02 PM
    A metric type ID  represents the kind of measurement being collected. This ID is a single integer but is typically referenced using its fully-qualified path including the CI type, where it is the number after the colon (for example, the full path of 1.1:12 contains the CI type ID of 1.1 plus the metric type ID of 12, where the combination defines a unique kind of metric that can be collected: "System"."Disk":"Disk Free"). The metric type ID includes the metric unit, for example: 1.1:12 = "System"."Disk"."Disk Free" reported in GB and 1.1:13 = "System"."Disk"."Disk Free" reported in MB. The metric type IDs are defined in the CM_CONFIGURATION_ITEM_METRIC_DEFINITION table and units are defined in the CM_METRIC_UNIT table.

https://techdocs.broadcom.com/us/en/ca-enterprise-software/it-operations-management/ca-unified-infrastructure-management-probes/GA/probe-development-tools/probe-software-developer-kit/probe-sdk-cookbook/declaring-inventory-metrics-and-bulk-configuration.html

------------------------------
    Support Engineer
    Broadcom
    ------------------------------

• 3.  RE: How to create a new metric - related to RESTmon probe

Posted Dec 02, 2020 09:23 AM
    Thanks David.