DX Infrastructure Management

Expand all | Collapse all

How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latency?

Jump to Best Answer
  • 1.  How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latency?

Posted 10-28-2010 08:28 PM

Hello,

I am fairly new to Nimsoft software and was wondering how could I do the following?

My task is to find to find the total hops, latency per hop, Total Latency for the whole trip. This will be run from a windows pc to gather data to determine performance from ISP providers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jarrod

• 2.  Re: How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latenc
    Best Answer

Posted 10-28-2010 09:16 PM

Your latency will be easy as that is just the net_connect probe.  To get your hops though you are going to have to do some custom stuff to run the traceroute or tracert command and get the total hops, not sure on your coding experience but you can use the language of your choice and then just build it into a probe or a command run via nexec. 

Latency per hop may be a little more tricky unless you just poll every ip along the way and get the response time back.

• 3.  Re: How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latenc

Posted 10-28-2010 09:28 PM

• 4.  Re: How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latenc

Posted 10-28-2010 09:37 PM

Where do I put the LUA code for it to run? Is there a probe i can paste the code into?

• 5.  Re: How to Collect QOS Data ever X minutes for Hops, Latency per hop and total Hops and Total Latenc

Posted 10-28-2010 11:06 PM

Jarrod,