Automic Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Workflow Question - assess file size

Posted Jan 14, 2014 02:54 PM

Hi I am a newbie to Automic.  Here is my question:

I have a Workflow that kicks off a process in PeopleSoft to generate an output file.  That file may contain rows of data I want to pass to my target system or the file may only contain the column headers and I would like to not pass that file; just archive it in the PeopleSoft folder (later task in workflow).  Is there a way to modify my event object to assess the scenario (file size) to determine what task to execute next?  Right now the event is looking for a file size greater than 128 bytes.  If the file is less than 128 bytes the workflow currently ends. 

File with rows to pass: execute all workflow tasks (transfer to UC4, transfer to target system, archive file in PS)

File with no rows to pass:  at the event task if the file is less than 128 bytes move to the archive file in PS task (6) – skipping all the transfer tasks

Thanks for any insight!

Lynn

• 2.  Workflow Question - assess file size

Posted Jan 15, 2014 03:49 AM

Hi Lynn,

I only know a solution that uses a scripting language but am very interested if a regular solution is available. 

Presuming the previous process is finished and the file is stable you can read the size of a file with a script. Depending on the operating system this could be a Command prompt or PowerShell and capture the output post-process. I currently have a Windows job that  echos the size of a variable file by the command below. Post-process I scan the report and promote the variable with PSET so I can use it in further steps. In your case this could be an IF workflow with a USER DEFINED condition checking the variable. 

Process:

echo off
    echo [START_MARKER]

forfiles /p &PATH# /m &FILENAME# /c "cmd /c echo @fsize"
    echo [END_MARKER]

Post-Process:

! Define variable to determine whether report content has started
    :DEFINE &ISCONTENT#, unsigned