ESXi

 View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

goody3335

goody3335Mar 01, 2012 10:34 PM

  • 1.  VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 12:56 AM

    Hi all,

    Obviously, Windows 8 Consumer Preview is not a supported product, however, having installed it, I would like to use the VM Client for 5.0.. When installing it comes up with "This product can only be installed on Windows XP SP2 and above"

    Has anyone had a chance to have a look at this and have found a workaround?

    Andrew Morison.



  • 2.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 10:34 PM

    I ran into the same issue...



  • 3.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 10:43 PM

    Okay, the workaround is pretty easy.  Just right click on the setup and click on Troubleshoot Compatibility.  Follow the wizard for that and then continue the install for the vSphere client.  That worked for me.  One caveat, though, is that I'm still getting the "The VMRC console has disconnected...attempting to reconnect" when I try to go the console tab (and when I try to open console.  However, all the other functionality seems to be there.



  • 4.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 10:52 PM

    I went through the Compatibility wizard and had no luck..

    Any chance of posting the selections you made?

    Regards,

    Andrew Morison - Techno Phobia

    Sent from my PacNet powered Blackberry Bold 9700



  • 5.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 10:59 PM

    I clicked on the "Try recommended settings" and then clicked on the "Test the program" button.  When that was complete, I clicked Next.  I believe it automatically chose Windows XP sp3 as the compatibility mode.  That started up the install and I just Nexted though all the client setup stuff and it installed successfully. 



  • 6.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 11:12 PM

    Hmm.. Interesting.. Tried the same and came up with my same issue.. I wonder what the difference could be..



  • 7.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 11:52 PM

    I think I right clicked and ran it as administrator too

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless Phone



  • 8.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 01, 2012 11:52 PM

    Umm...I also turned my UAC settings completely off and I'm a local admin on the machine.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless Phone



  • 9.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 02, 2012 07:55 AM

    Hi,

    Compatibility Mode as "Windows 7" for the viclient setup file should do the trick.

    If you use "Windows XP SP3" compatibility mode, installation fails.

    Also "Run as administrator" may be needed, based on LUA settings.

    Jan



  • 10.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 02, 2012 02:26 PM

    Actually XP SP 3 installed fine for me.  With Windows 7 compatibility, is your console working?



  • 11.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 02, 2012 02:42 PM

    Well,

    it probably depends on version of viclient.

    for VMware-viclient-all-5.0.0-455964.exe the "Windows XP SP3" does not work, at least for me.

    Anyhow, if "Windows XP SP3" does not work for you, try the "Windows 7" compatibility mode.

    I suppose, one of those should work just fine.

    Jan.



  • 12.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 02, 2012 03:02 PM

    I’m on version 5.0.0.16964. Does your console work?



  • 13.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Mar 02, 2012 03:56 PM

    I was able to install using Win7 compatibility mode but I have the same console issue.. :smileysad:

    There is a workaround for this issue: you can use VMware workstation 8 to connect to vCenter and use that to connect to the console. It's messy but it get's the job done. Hopefully there'll be a fix soon. Untill then we're stuck with workstation.

    By the way: workstation should run in Win7 comp. mode to function properly.



  • 14.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Jun 25, 2012 07:03 PM

    Have you guys tried using the new WSX TP2 the comes with the Workstation 8 Tech Preview.  It's just another work around, but it's pretty cool that you can do everything in the browser and you also don't have to pull up workstation this way.  It works on Windows now.



  • 15.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Oct 22, 2012 10:01 AM

    I tried to use Workstation (9) to connect to vcenter server, but I can not open VM's as it complains "Permission to perform this operation was denied.".

    Is there a solution?



  • 16.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Aug 22, 2012 04:32 PM

    Has anyone found a solution to the "The VMRC  console has disconnected...attempting to reconnect." problem?

    I am aware of the Workstation 8 workaround but that's not good enough for me.



  • 17.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Oct 26, 2012 08:42 PM

    Same issue running Windows 8 Pro 64b

    Tried to use the Troubleshoot compability using Windows 7 and Windows XP SP3 and wasn't possible to install.

    This product can only be installed on Windows XP SP2 and above



  • 18.  RE: VM Client install on Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Posted Jan 07, 2013 04:00 PM

    The problem is fixed now.  Just download the latest version of the  vSphere client VMware-viclient-all-5.0.0-913577.exe and install it.   Reboot and the problem is fixed!