ESXi

 View Only
  • 1.  Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 30, 2011 06:06 PM

    Hello,

    today I have finished to build my vSphere Home Lab.

    I have started my adventure with ESXi and vSphere last summer almost for play but now I have finally found the time and in a particular way the money to build my vSphere Home Lab.

    Still isn't what I really want however, I'm quite happy with my config.

    This is my Hardware:

    PC1

    Asus P6T Deluxe V2

    Intel Core i7 920

    24GB DDR-3 RAM

    ESXi installed on an USB Stick

    3x1TB SataII HD

    PC2

    Asus P8P67-M

    Intel Core i5 2500

    16GB DDR-3 RAM

    ESXi installed on USB Stick

    PC3

    Asus P7H55-M

    Intel Core i3 540

    8GB DDR-3

    Windows Server 2008 R2

    vSphere Client

    I have installed FreeNAS on the PC1 and created a Stripe RAID0 array with the 3 1TB HD that I have on the PC1 and then added the NFS Share to ESXi.

    Now I'm planning to install vSphere Server as VM on the PC1 and 2 Windows Server 2008 R2 VM for AD and DNS and then I'll play with vMotion etc...

    Now what I need is a switch because actually I'm using my DD-WRT Gigabit Rourter but I know that is not the right solution.

    However, what do you think of my Home lab?

    I know, isn't perfect, is there something that I should do or should correct or avoid?

    Thank You So Much!!!

    Marco G.



  • 2.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 06:07 AM

    Could be good.

    I suggest to buy a swith with VLAN and PVLAN support in order to test also some DVS feature (if you need the lab to prepare for VCAP-DCA or also for the "simple" VCP exam).

    Also test both the iSCSI and the NFS solution because they work in different way.

    Andre



  • 3.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 11:57 AM

    Not bat at al l:smileyhappy:

    As Andre mentioned a physical switch with VLAN support and Jumbo Frames would be a bonus.

    Good luck.

    Rgds,

    J.

    My Company http://www.jmgvirtualconsulting.com

    My Blog http://www.josemariagonzalez.es

    My Virtualization Web TV Show http://www.virtualizacion.tv



  • 4.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 08:03 PM

    Thanks for your answers, I really appreciate.

    Today I decided to buy another PC for NAS so I can have a PC dedicated only to shared storage.

    So now I have no HD in my 2 vSphere Whiteboxes, this is the hardware for my NAS:

    MB: Asrock H61M-GS

    CPU: Pentium G620 (1155) Dual Core

    RAM: 4GB DDR-3 Dual Channel

    4HD (3x1Tb) and 1x640GB

    FreeNAS

    I have created a striped RAID0 array with the 3 1TB HD and 1 iSCSI target with the 640GB HD.

    I'll use the iSCSI target to store my VM ISOs and the NFS Share for VM Files.



  • 5.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 08:05 PM

    I forgot: I have decided to install vSphere Server on physical hardware on PC3, do you think that this is a good decision?



  • 6.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 08:10 PM

    As long as it boots up and works it would be a good decision :smileywink:

    JFYI, Check this out to make sure that whatever you are buying it would work http://ultimatewhitebox.com/systems

    Rgds,

    J.

    My Company http://www.jmgvirtualconsulting.com

    My Blog http://www.josemariagonzalez.es

    My Virtualization Web TV Show http://www.virtualizacion.tv



  • 7.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 08:28 PM

    Most embedded NICs do not work for ESXi. The vast majority are Realtek and are not supported. Without a supported NIC ESXi will not install. You can use one of the Intel Desktop adapters from the http://vm-help.com whitebox HCL or the VMware HCL http://vmware.com/go/hcl



  • 8.  RE: Please review my Home Lab

    Posted Jul 31, 2011 08:54 PM

    With a small environment like this I would consider installing the vCenter Server Virtual Appliance and use the free DB2 database. This way you can use vCenter as a VM and not have to provide a Windows license.

    http://vmwire.com/2011/07/15/vsphere-vcenter-server-linux-virtual-appliance-quick-start-guide/

    Also some realtek chipset networking cards will be usable in ESXi 5.0. So it might be worth waiting for this release in a few weeks. I know the Vendors have a copy already so it won't be long before you can download it from VMware.

    Regards,

    Paul