The Water Cooler

• 1.  AEAT-9000-1GSH0 with EPOS4 issue

Posted Apr 04, 2019 12:01 AM

Hey everyone,
    I am an engineer for our company's robotics team and we are facing some technical difficulties, so I would like to ask for some help.

We would like to use the AEAT-9000-1GSH0 encoder that we purchased with a Maxon EPOS4 50/5 controller, with SSI protocol. We have managed to connect the devices together, however after configuration, the encoder value keeps floating instead of giving one, steady value.

Our current wiring and settings are as stated below, please review it for me, and kindly suggest me a different wiring and settings if necessary.
    If with the below settings and wiring the product should work, is it safe to assume that it is a faulty model?

pin             EPOS4 pins   AEAT-9000 pins
    CLK            5                  28
    /CLK           6                  30
    DATA(SSI)   7                  22
    /DATA(SSI)  8                  20
    GND           9                  6,8,17,18,14
    +5 VDC      10                27,29,16

Required settings on EPOS4, and our current settings:

- SSI data rate : 1500 kbit/s (min. 400, max 2000)
    - SSI number of data bits : single turn: 17 (min. 6 max. 23) (multi-turn and special bits set to 0)
    - SSI encoding type : Direction: maxon, Encoding type: Gray coded data
    - SSI timeout time : 50 μs (20 μs required according to AEAT-9000 datasheet)
    - SSI refresh frequency (automatically set by EPOS STUDIO, vary between 25'000, 12'5000, 5'000 Hz)
    - SSI power up time : 10 ms (500ns required according to AEAT-9000 datasheet)

After further experimenting with the AEAT-9000-1GSH0 encoder, we experienced the following:
    We supplied the required 5V through a signal generator to the encoder, and tried to see any form of signal coming from the encoder with an oscilloscope. Also, we measured the on-board voltages.