For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

Hemant and Abba,

Thanks for all the input, I will be back in the office tomorrow and I will certainly try the options you have provided to me. I will let you know the outcome!

Thanks!

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

--->>> So connect a laptop and try to do it with -s option.

-s Operand change or solved nothing, because generally "firmwaredownload" command in 4.x can only be started from Active CP and

not from Standby CP

Now, -s Operand Upgrade the FOS ONLY IN SINGLE CP.

--->>> try to download the UNIX version of the FOS and try to do through a UNIX machine,

This is the same package as the Windows Package, the difference is here the UNIX Package is packed as .tar, and the Windows is a .zip package.

Result, upgrade from UNIX don't solve any kind of problem, also another uselessly aswer from hemant.

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

I have faced the issue about UNIX and widows version, thats why I have my input here. Also sometimes FTP problem is there from laptops . i have changed laptops and found perfect later.

Whatever it may be I have given my practical inputs, not theoritically like others.

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

Well honestly, I appreciate both of your guys answers, all has been helpful.

The story is right now CP0 is stanby ans CP1 is active. The CP which is at the lower revision code 4.4.0b is the standby CP0.

I had replaced that CP and of course it was at the lower rev. Now I just need to upgrade the firmware and I'm having the issue I mentioned where the 'firmwaredownload' status is not finding the neccessary file.

Either way, I will let both of you know tomorrow through this thread what the putcome utlimately is.

Thanks again!!

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

Eric,

to turn back to topic, i forgot follow:

--->>> I had replaced that CP and of course it was at the lower rev.

If the difference between both FOS Release caused by a CP Replacement, probable is the IP set wrong or/as default 10.77.77.7x

try the command "ipaddrshow" to verify and to set the IP try "ipaddrset"

This is the reason the standby CP cannot be in Sync with active and firmwaredownload is failed

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

I have already done all that ABBA, I'm only having problems getting the firmware downloaded. The IP Adddressing has already been done and works fine for connectivity. I can telnet locally or remotely to both CP's just fine.

It's just the firmware download thats the problem.

Thanks!!

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

If you are the opinion all settings are correct in the directory, then the problem can be caused between FTP and Switch due malfuntion or wrong configure LAN Setting such IP, or the FTP is not correct pointed to correct IP Address, or you start firmwaredownload from wrong folder.

Try now "firmwaredownload" collect all the output step-by-step, and upload here.

tell me the exact root folder is the FTP Pointed and the Fabric OS Folder name.

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-09-2009

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

ABBA- Here is the info you requested:

The directory is C:\Switch_Downloads were the file has been extracted to.

CP1 login: admin
Password:
Brocade12000:admin> firmwaredownload -s 10.4.7.13
Server Name or IP Address: 10.4.4.67
User Name: hitachi
File Name: /Switch_Downloads/release.plist/
Password:
Do Auto-Commit after Reboot : y
Reboot system after download : y
Firmwaredownload has started.
Could not read the Pfile headr.
Firmwaredownload failed. (0x12) Can't access package list (.plist) file.


SWITCH0
Ethernet IP Address: 10.4.7.11
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.192
Fibre Channel IP Address: 0.0.0.0
Fibre Channel Subnetmask: 0.0.0.0

SWITCH1
Ethernet IP Address: 10.4.7.12
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.192
Fibre Channel IP Address: 0.0.0.0
Fibre Channel Subnetmask: 0.0.0.0

CP0
Ethernet IP Address: 10.4.7.13
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.192
HostName : CP0
Gateway Address: 10.4.7.62

CP1
Ethernet IP Address: 10.4.7.14
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.192
HostName : CP1
Gateway Address: 10.4.7.62

Backplane IP address of CP0 : 10.0.0.5
Backplane IP address of CP1 : 10.0.0.6

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

Eric,

1) are you sure the FTP is Pointed to this folder ?

/Switch_Downloads

2)

I note you put a wrong file name

/Switch_Downloads/release.plist/

correct must be

/Switch_Downloads/release.plist

without the last "/" character

3)

i see your use as username hitachi, are you sure this is the owner FTP user account with read and write access ?

try for FTP "anonymous" both as username and password

let me know.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Using FTP Function with Brocade 12000

eric

-->>> The directory is C:\Switch_Downloads were the file has been extracted to.

usually the file are extraced in i.e. v4.4.2b

please check now if the file are in the directory

C:\Switch_Downloads

or

C:\Switch_Downloads\v4.4.2b

extracted

in this case he correct filename by firmwaredowload is /Switch_Downloads/v4.4.2b/release.plist

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.