For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2019

Unable to enable root account X6 director

Hey,

 

I have a X6 director running FOS v8.2.1a.

 

1. I log in as admin

then I do:

 

rootaccess –set all

>Operation not supported on this platform

 

userconfig –change root –e yes

>root cannot be enabled on this platform

 

What now? I cannot enable root to use it!

 

Thanks

 

Nigel

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-26-2010

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

 

1) Are you performing the rootaccess --set all command using the general mgmt IP of the X-6 ?

    <Make sure you are not attaching to IP of the standby CP>

 

2) Search of most recent Brocade Release Notes did not find a defect describing your problem. 

      Maybe try doing a CP failover, then re-attempt the rootaccess --set all command.

 

3) Do you get any output from this command? :    userconfig --show root 

 

4) This might require opening an SR with Brocade.

The comments and advise included are the author's and do not mirror the views and opinions of any company. Any comments, advise, statements or references are without warranty, liability or claims of expertise. You should seek the assistance of the professional entity for subject matter being pursued.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2019

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

Hi,

 

I am logging into the management IP of the switch,

 

See below:

 

login as: admin
admin@XXXXXXXXX's password:
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> firmwareshow
Slot Name       Appl     Primary/Secondary Versions               Status
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1  CP0        FOS      v8.2.1a                                  ACTIVE *
                         v8.2.1a
  2  CP1        FOS      v8.2.1a                                  STANDBY
                         v8.2.1a
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> userconfig --show root

Account name: root
Description: root
Enabled: No
Password Last Change Date: Wed Jun 13 2018 (UTC)
Password Expiration Date: Not Applicable (UTC)
Locked: No
Home LF Role: root
Role-LF List: root: 1-128
Chassis Role: root
Home LF: 128
Day Time Access: N/A
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> userconfig --change root -e yes
root cannot be enabled in this platform
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> rootaccess --set all
Operation not supported in this platform
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin>

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-26-2010

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

FOS v8.2.1a is brand new. Possibly there is a bug(?) regarding root access enabling.

 

I did notice in FOS v8.2.1a this:

 

"FOS 8.2.1 adds the -force option to the rootAccess command to bypass the interactive prompt of the command execution."

 

Maybe start over by setting rootaccess --set none   then  rootaccess --set all -f 

The comments and advise included are the author's and do not mirror the views and opinions of any company. Any comments, advise, statements or references are without warranty, liability or claims of expertise. You should seek the assistance of the professional entity for subject matter being pursued.
External Moderator
Posts: 5,620
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

@willsm 

 

the problem solution is in the output, the root account is current set to disable

 

I've marked in Red

 

XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> userconfig --show root

Account name: root
Description: root
Enabled: No

 

bevor you can set the root account to access, must be first to enable

 

simple execute the follow command

 

userconfig --change root -e yes

 

and then

 

rootaccess --set all

 

optional with the operand -f

 

 

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-26-2010

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

Antonio,

This user tried to set rootaccess to all but it states the operation is not supported.

 

The user posted this entry shown above:

 

XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin> rootaccess --set all
Operation not supported in this platform
XXXXXXXXXXXX:FID128:admin>

The comments and advise included are the author's and do not mirror the views and opinions of any company. Any comments, advise, statements or references are without warranty, liability or claims of expertise. You should seek the assistance of the professional entity for subject matter being pursued.
Super Contributor
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

Hello guys,

 

is the switch from Brocade ? 

 

I've found one nice note in Admin guide FOS 8.2.0

 

NOTE
Not all systems ship with root accounts. If your system does not
have a root account, you will not be able to enable it.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-26-2010

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

Good question, Marian.   Who is the supplier of the X-6 ?   Brocade, EMC, IBM, other?....If you dont know the answer please

run command chassisshow and look at the last few lines of output, it should indicate which company supplied the switch.

 

That said, if all else fails I would suggest a CP failover then retry enabling root account.

The comments and advise included are the author's and do not mirror the views and opinions of any company. Any comments, advise, statements or references are without warranty, liability or claims of expertise. You should seek the assistance of the professional entity for subject matter being pursued.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2019

Re: Unable to enable root account X6 director

The switch is Huawei.

 

Apparently its had its root account disabled permeanently from when it was built for security reasons.

 

So nothing I can do apparently.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.