For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.

Fibre Channel (SAN)

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

SAN design considerations

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I'm a beginner SAN administrator and I have a couple questions about design.

Please check our diagram: https://go.gliffy.com/go/share/su5rqq5vuy8lyfyw2k2f

1. At the moment we have only blue links between devices, so like I understand we have 2 independent fabric zones (I added exemplary zones in blue fields  (FABRIC1 and FABRIC2 - correct?)
  2. I want to add red links between SAN switches, so after that, all switches will be in one domain, so our zones should look like in a red filed (FABRIC 3)? If so, whether such architecture it's recommended at all? I understand that the error in the configuration is propagated throughout the whole domain (all switches)?
  3. With only blue links I should see 4 paths on each server. But after adding red links I should see 8 pats on each server. Am I right?

thanks for your answers

Super Contributor

Re: SAN design considerations

[ Edited ]

Hello 

At the moment we have only blue links between devices, so like I understand we have 2 independent fabric zones (I added exemplary zones in blue fields  (FABRIC1 and FABRIC2 - correct?

With add RED links in tology you will disable redundancy in fabric so in case that one switch will start flooding fabric ALL connection to the storage will be disrupted. Main reason to have two sepparate fabric is that when failure will ocure in first fabric you have twin fabric which will hold production. So this is not good approach at all and this will remove main design of SAN redundancy

I want to add red links between SAN switches, so after that, all switches will be in one domain, so our zones should look like in a red filed (FABRIC 3)? If so, whether such architecture it's recommended at all? I understand that the error in the configuration is propagated throughout the whole domain (all switches)?