For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2019
Accepted Solution

Dual switch topolgie

Hi everyone,

 

i'm new to fibre channel, please excuse my current lack of knowledge.

I would like a confirmation this:

 

I'm about to setup a new small hypervior infrastructure with 3 nodes, 2 brocade switches (G610) an 1 SAN.

 

Please correct me if i'm wrong.

Those 2 brocades will be configured seperataly for redudancy. So they aren't interconnected at all and vSphere or the HBAs will later on manage the multipathing to the LUNs.

 

My plan is to configure both switches and zones one after another with the EZSwitch tool, so that they work as two seperated fabrics. I've found a lot of info about the different topolgies, such as fully-meshed, loop, aso. But not much about two single switches, which appears to be the most basic redundant form possible. Somewhere someone once told: It is critical that both switch are not connected, true?

 

many thanks in advance for your help.

best regards

External Moderator
Posts: 5,679
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Dual switch topolgie

@Stromriders 

 

--->>>Those 2 brocades will be configured seperataly for redudancy. So they aren't interconnected at all and vSphere or the HBAs will later on manage the multipathing to the LUNs.

 

Correct.

 

--->>>My plan is to configure both switches and zones one after another ...

 

right, you need simple to create on each switch a config with zone contained target an initiator

 

but please do that via CLI or simple way from switch webtools itself, is most easy as EZswitch Setup

 

--->>>....such as fully-meshed, loop...

 

you can safely ignore mesh or full meshed topology since you have only ONE switch each fabric.

 

Full mesh topology is very complex and required at least 3 switch in a  Fabric, each switch must be connected like a Star each to each other.

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Dual switch topolgie

Perfect! Thank your very much!
EZswitch looks like a click-click-next wizard for the inital setup.

After that, i would be ashamed to not dig deeper into the topic, cli commands aso. Specially since i have a lot of time before going live.
Thanks again!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎03-20-2018

Re: Dual switch topolgie

See the attached pic for a physical layout example.

 

https://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redbooks/pdfs/sg248158.pdf

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Dual switch topolgie

@ussenterprise-bda
Thank you for sharing, i almost read the entire IBM Redbook - SAN-sg245470, this one's new. thx.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎03-20-2018

Re: Dual switch topolgie

No problem. I'm one of the authors. :)

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Dual switch topolgie

nice!
And all the sudden, i don't feel so alone with this task anymore :-)
Great to have people who care to help
regards
Broadcom
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-19-2010

Re: Dual switch topolgie

[ Edited ]

@Stromriders 

 

 If you are intersted in additional SAN training, we now have over 100 Free Brocade Technical training courses available online. Each course includes a short assessment test. After each course is completed, test takers can print a course completion certificate. 

 

 

We also have some additional training on accessing and utilizing the learning portal:

 

Additional Training on Brocade Education including the Learning Portal:

  1. Brocade Education Overview Training: https://bit.ly/2D6XemP
  2. Broadcom Learning Portal Overview Training https://goo.gl/NhA25w
    1. Accessing the Learning Portal, navigation, registering and completing training 

 

 

Accessing Brocade Education via Learning Portal

  1. Log On to Learning Portal here: https//www.broadcom.com/education
  2. Register for Learning Portal / Customer Support Portal: (New Users Only) https://www.broadcom.com/registration
  3. Forgot Password for Account? Reset here: https://www.broadcom.com/forgotpassword
  4. From Learning Portal use the Search Bar to Search for Training
Jeremy
Brocade Storage Networking
Technical Content Developer
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Dual switch topolgie

Thanks a lot Jeremy!

I saved them for later.

 

There's actually an incredible amount of info and documentation regarding fibre channel.

That quite encouraging.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.