For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

[ Edited ]

Dear All,

 

In my existing environment, we don't have good enough FC port in our existing SAN switch, but we still have some free FC port on our SAN router (model: 7800). May i have the following question:.

 

1. Can i direct connect FC cable from the host server to 7800 SAN router and then do zoning configuration on SAN router?

2. Or i need to create virtual fabric and then create zoning in logical switch?

3. As existing router is under production environment, can i create the virtual fabric on top of it? Thanks

 

Regards,

Kenneth

External Moderator
Posts: 5,679
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

@Kenneth 

 

--->>>1. Can i direct connect FC cable from the host server to 7800 SAN router and then do zoning configuration on SAN router?

 

where is the Storage connected/zoned ?

 

 

you can create a new zone for all the free port outside the FCR Zone, however if the Storage in in the same FCR Zone, such config not work as excepted.

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

Dear Antonio,

 

Here is my detail situation:

 

I have  2 x SAN switch (let's say SAN switch A and SAN switch B) connect to existing 2 x SAN router (EX port) for site to site replication. As i found out that i don't have enough FC port in SAN switch but i have much free FC port on SAN router. See can i do the following:

 

1. Connect FC connection from my x86 server  and Tape drive to SAN router and then do zoning configuration?

2. And connect ISL connection between existing SAN switch A to SAN router (E port) as the x 86 server need to connect SAN storage which connected to SAN switch fabric.

 

See can i do it?

 

And am i necessary to create virtual fabric on SAN router (Model 7800) to handle above situation? Thanks

 

Regards,

Kenneth

External Moderator
Posts: 5,679
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

@Kenneth 

 

--->>>1. Connect FC connection from my x86 server and Tape drive to SAN router and then do zoning configuration?

 

--->>>2. And connect ISL connection between existing SAN switch A to SAN router (E port) as the x 86 server need to connect SAN storage which connected to SAN switch fabric.

 

sorry, but I'm a bit confused.

 

can you please create a DRAW AS-IS  / To Be ?

TechHelp24
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-02-2019

Re: Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

[ Edited ]

Dear 

 

 

 

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-11-2018

Re: Brocade 7800 zoning and virtual fabric

If you have EX ports, that means your Router is in a Backbone Fabric and your other switch is in an Edge Fabric. You'll want your host to be connected to the Edge Fabric, not the Backbone, so yes you would need to partition your 7800 with Logic Switches (and connect it to the other switch with E Ports in addition to the current EX Ports). If Virtual Fabric is enabled but you currently only have one Logical Switch (check for the FID: indicator in your CLI prompt) you should be able to implement this without downtime, but if VF is currently disabled you will need to disable the switch to configure it.

 

Note that the LS with EX Ports must be the so-called base switch. Also check that your extra ports on the 7800 are actually licensed before you start doing this.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.