For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
External Moderator
Posts: 5,647
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

@LK 

 

did you have a free port on the switch ? if yes, try follow please

 

Insert the SFP+ 8Gb, this must Brocade Supported.

 

1) portcfgpersistentdisable "port_number"

2) portcfgdefault "port_number"

3) portcfglogclear "port_number"

4) portcfgspeed "port_number" 8 where 8 is the speed

4) portcfgpersistentenable "port_number"

 

now, post the eintire output from command

 

portcfgshow "port_number"

TechHelp24
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi

Same as ever. I

 

fceg3:> portcfgshow 0
Area Number: 0
Speed Level: 8G
Fill Word(On Active) 0(Idle-Idle)
Fill Word(Current) 0(Idle-Idle)
AL_PA Offset 13: OFF
Trunk Port ON
Long Distance OFF
VC Link Init OFF
Locked L_Port OFF
Locked G_Port OFF
Disabled E_Port OFF
Locked E_Port OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode OFF
RSCN Suppressed OFF
Persistent Disable OFF
LOS TOV mode 0(OFF)
NPIV capability ON
QOS Port AE
Port Auto Disable: OFF
Rate Limit OFF
EX Port OFF
Mirror Port OFF
SIM Port OFF
Credit Recovery ON
F_Port Buffers OFF
E_Port Credits OFF
Fault Delay: 0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit: 126
NPIV FLOGI Logout: OFF
CSCTL mode: OFF
TDZ mode: OFF

fceg3:>

 

But I have notice that there is a problem with SN when port is at 8g. See below.

 

fceg3:> sfpshow
Port 0: id Can not read Serial Data!
Port 1: --

fceg3:> portcfgspeed 0 0
fceg3:> sfpshow
Port 0: id (sw) Vendor: BROCADE Serial No: UAA1084200001EC Speed: 2,4,8_Gbps
Port 1: --

 

Commands:

 

fceg3:> portcfgpersistentdisable 0
fceg3:> portcfgdefault 0
fceg3:> portcfglogclear 0
rbash: portcfglogclear: command not found
fceg3:> portlogclear 0
invalid number of parameters
fceg3:> portlogclear
fceg3:> portcfgspeed 0 8
fceg3:> switchshow
switchName: fceg3
switchType: 66.1
switchState: Online
switchMode: Native
switchRole: Principal
switchDomain: 3
switchId: fffc03
switchWwn: 10:00:00:05:1e:8f:0d:8d
zoning: ON (prod)
switchBeacon: OFF
FC Router: OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1
Address Mode: 0
HIF Mode: OFF

Index Port Address Media Speed State Proto
==================================================
0 0 030000 id 8G No_Light FC Disabled

 

but when:

 

fceg3:> portcfgpersistentenable 0
fceg3:> switchshow

Index Port Address Media Speed State Proto
==================================================
0 0 030000 id 8G Mod_Inv FC "Speed Mismatch / Incompatible SFP"

 

 

But see at attachement - this is my sfp.

I almost give up.

Best Regards

Leszek Kaptur

Super Contributor
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hello,

 

hmm this is so strange....did you try to cold reboot of the switch ?

From where did you get FOS packages? 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi,

Yes, a few reboots, but there is no problem to perform another one. All FabOS was from Brocade site archieved via ibm support (redirected). Is it the simply and safely way to downgrade to 6.4?

Best Regards

Leszek Kaptur

Super Contributor
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hello,

 

as per release guide you may downgrade with steps back without any issues.

 

I am stil thinking about 8Gb license as the same behaviour is described in license guide:

 

Without an 8G license, even if there is an 8 Gbps SFP plugged into a port in an applicable
platform, the port would be enabled to run at a maximum speed of 4 Gbps.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

[ Edited ]

Did you notice what was the exact FOS version during the multi-step upgrade when your switch refused to connect at 8G?

 

Do you have any configshow / configupload / supportshow / supportsave traces from any of the "past lives" of this switch?

Di you have a support case open for your issue?

LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Did you notice what was the exact FOS version during the multi-step upgrade when your switch refused to connect at 8G?

No. The base was 6.4.3h and 8G spf works as 8G. I did not check sfp compatibility during upgrade which I regret now.

 

Do you have any configshow / configupload / supportshow / supportsave traces from any of the "past lives" of this switch?

Unluckily I do not have any of the above. A history which I only have is Brocade SAN Health report.

 

Di you have a support case open for your issue?

No, this switch does not have any support. 5100 is EOS from August 2018 and this is my real problem.

Even worse. I have two more the same type switches 5100 (Type 66.1) running FabOS 6.4.3h fine and I'am afraid of upgrading it to 7.4. In this case thay stay at 6.

What do you advise?

Best Ragards

Leszek Kaptur

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Oh, I see, what a pity... I'd try to downgrade the problem switch back step by step and see if one of the steps will bring back 8G connectivity.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,647
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

@LK 

 

collect all this info and send me a PM

 

-Switch Serial Numer

-WWN

-chassisshow

-full (not trunkated / edited ) output from command "licenseshow"

 

you wrote to have a Old San-Health ?

 

if the switch had in the past a 8Gb License, this should be listet in SH report.

 

please share the SH via email.

 

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,647
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

@LK 

 

addidtional collect please the complete output command "clihistory"

 

I've the suspicion you have executed "firmwarecleaninstall" command instead firmwaredownload ?!

TechHelp24

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.