For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
External Moderator
Posts: 5,680
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

@LK 

 

--->>>But at which version? 

 

NONE!

 

instead to discuss here about any BUG, you say to have a SAN-Health report.

 

in the report are all license listed.

 

at this point the answer ist very simple, check the SH and re-install the license with the command licenseadd

TechHelp24
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi

Both 5100 are at v7.4.2c, and 5300 are at v7.4.2d. I do not know if it depends of hardware type but was I have done.

Switech are not harware rebooted but upgraded from 6.4.3 to 7.4.2 and nothing happend - stil 8g sfp was working as 8g. Than I move it to nowe location. This enforce poweroff and on. Just after poweron switch become 4g - stoped recognize 8g sfp.

Yes I have old SAN-Health reports. The licenses numbers are the same. Reinstalling licenses is a promising step, but just use licenseadd (maen overwrite) or first licenseremove and then add? Which licenses key? All? Reboot switch or not?

Here are my licenses:

 

fceg3:admin> licenseshow
cRSQbbd9dbdSTRci:
Fabric license
S9cyeQ9SScVAdzfq:
Fabric Watch (Fabric Vision capable) license
RyRQ9zzRyeSzSRAu:
Extended Fabric license
S9cyeQ9SScbAdzfw:
Trunking license
S9cyeQ9SScXAdzfs:
Performance Monitor (Fabric Vision capable) license
S9cyeQ9SScTQdzf4:
First Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
S9cyeQ9SScTAhzfs:
Second Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
fceg3:admin>

 

Best Regards

Leszek Kaptur

External Moderator
Posts: 5,680
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

@LK 

 

--->>>The licenses numbers are the same. 

 

you are very HARD!

 

the output you post is from licenseshow.

 

you have to have a look in the SAN-health in LICENSE SUMMARY

 

you insist the switch was License for 8GigFC, at this point you should find the license key in SH.

 

you need only to install the missing 8GigFC license

 

LICENSE SUMMARY
Switch Name License Name License Key License Name License Key License Name License Key
TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I've not find nothing significant in logs, as there is no device attached to the port 0 the speed negotiation did not occured.

After change speed port is marked as faulty.

 

Thu Apr 11 10:26:30 2019
10:26:30.820 PORT scn 0 4 00000000,00000000,00000800	---> Port is marked faulty (probably SFP not inserted)
10:26:44.559 SPEE sn 0 NC 00000008,00000000,00000000	---> Negotiation Complete Stage | Negotiation complete to 8Gb
10:26:44.559 INTR pstate 0 OL1				---> Offline: OLS transmit state
10:26:44.565 INTR pstate 0 AC				---> Active state
10:26:51.147 INTR pstate 0 OL1				--->  Offline: OLS transmit state
10:26:51.151 PORT scn 0 22 00010002,4302000f,00000001	---> PORT_SCN_ERR_NO_LIGHT | Switch state change notification
10:26:51.151 PORT scn 0 5 00000000,00000000,00000002    ---> Port is an E_Port | Port state change notification
10:26:54.362 PORT scn 0 6 00000000,00000001,00000001    ---> Port is Fabric aware port (F or FL) | Switch state change notification
10:26:54.481 PORT scn 0 6 00000000,00000000,00000001	---> Port is Fabric aware port (F or FL)  | Switch state change notification
Fri Apr 12 13:36:47 2019
-------------- CHANGE TO 8GB
13:36:47.539 PORT scn 0 6 00000000,00000000,00000004    -------> Port is Fabric aware port (F or FL) | Cant find 00000004 in docu
13:36:47.539 PORT scn 0 22 00000005,4302000f,00000001	-------> CFG_CHANGED | PORT_SCN_ERR_FAULT| Switch state change notification
13:36:47.539 PORT scn 0 5 00000000,00000000,00000002	-------> Port is an E_Port| Port state change notification
13:36:47.539 PORT scn 0 1 00000005,4302000f,00000002    -------> Port is online (in active state)|PORT_SCN_ERR_FAULT | Port state change notification
13:36:47.539 PORT scn 0 22 00000005,4302000f,00000001   -------> CFG_CHANGED| PORT_SCN_ERR_FAULT| Switch state change notification
--------------- CHANGE TO 4GB
13:37:55.765 PORT scn 0 1 00000001,00000000,00001000	---- PORT ONLINE 
13:37:56.039 PORT scn 0 6 00000000,00000000,00000001	---- Port is Fabric aware port (F or FL) | Switch state change notification

 

 









The information and statements provided by me are without warranty or guarantee. To get professional support please open case to Broadcom or to your OEM.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Highlighted
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi All

Finnally I have solved this problem. Thank you very much to everyone involved. I am guilty of a short explanation.

Everything described above gives the lack of an explicit 8g license, which is revealed not during the update but only after the hardware (poweoff) reboot of the switch. During upgrading process and after it everythink worked fine until power off and poweron.
A very similar description of the possible occurrence of problem is described at the beginning of the thread. However, I have noticed that the problematic switches had have an implicitly 8g license when running 6.4.3 firmware (do not showed when running licenesshow command), which after the upgrade process must have to be explicitly added with a licenseadd command. All the time I thought I had 8g licenses but it was only party truth. It has had to be regenerated (recreated) by Brocade and it was when Brocade published v7 of FabOS but I did not known this till today.

This licence name is "8 Gig FC license" as below:

fceg3:admin> licenseshow
Fabric license
Fabric Watch (Fabric Vision capable) license
Extended Fabric license
Trunking license
Performance Monitor (Fabric Vision capable) license
First Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
Second Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
8 Gig FC license
fceg3:admin>

 

Best Regards

Leszek Kaptur

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

So did you manage to request the required license for the out-of-support hardware?

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.