For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Highlighted
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019
Accepted Solution

After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi

I have two Brocade 5100 switches (OEM IBM). A week ago, when they worked under FabOS v6.4.3h they ware as 8G switches. After upgrade to v7.4.2c thay become only 4G. My all ports are N4Gbps and I could not chanage to N8Gbps. My SFP are:

 

Transceiver: 540c404000000000 2,4,8_Gbps M5,M6 sw Short_dist

 

When I try to change port speed to 8G an error appears:

 

Mod_Inv Speed Mismatch / Incompatible SFP FAULTY

 

Any suggestion?

Best Regrds

Leszek Kaptur

Super Contributor
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

do you have 8Gb License ?

 

From License guide:

 

8G licensing
ATTENTION
The 8G license is installed by default and you should not remove it. Port operation may become
disrupted, and ports may be prevented from operating at 8 Gbps when the license is removed.
The 8G license applies to the Brocade 300, 5100, 5300, and VA-40FC switches and the 8 Gbps
embedded switches; this license does not apply to the Brocade 6505, 6510, or 6520. 
14 Fabric OS Software Licensing Guide
53-1003110-01
2 Slot-based licensing
The following list describes the basic rules of using, adding, or removing 8G licenses:
• Without an 8G license, even if there is an 8 Gbps SFP plugged into a port in an applicable
platform, the port would be enabled to run at a maximum speed of 4 Gbps.
• To obtain an 8G license, only the license ID from the switch is required. When you add the 8G
license, you must enter either the portDisable and portEnable commands on each individual
port on the switch, or the switchDisable and switchEnable commands on the switch, to enable
8 Gbps features.
• When you remove the 8G license, the ports that are online and already running at 8 Gbps are
not disturbed until the port goes offline or the switch is rebooted. The switch ports return to
their pre-licensed state maximum speed of 4 Gbps. 

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Was that a direct single step upgrade from 6.4 to 7.4?
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

It was a long way to upgrade from v6.

My full path was:

v6.4.3h ---> v7.0.0d ---> v7.1.0c ---> v7.2.0b (maps convert) ---> v7.3.0c ---> v7.4.0b ---> v7.4.2c

 

Licensesshow:

 

Fabric license
Fabric Watch license
Extended Fabric license
Trunking license
Performance Monitor license
First Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
Second Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license

 

At v6 and at v7.4 are the same (as above)

Full Fabric is also called the Fabric license (visible in licenseShow
output) as I read at FOS_LicenseGuide_v740.pdf

 

I have no idea what was happend.

Super Contributor
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

could you please paste full ouput of SFP show ?

I only thnking if the SFPs are  brocade branded or rebrand by  IBM......

 

Please share portcfgshow and portlogdumpport  for one of affected port

 

 

Thanks.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi

Thank you for your time and help.

All ports are affected. I have tested 3 types of sfp's: - native Brocade (IBM OEM), lets say Brocade compatible and HP-A. HP was only taken from new HPE switch for tests on my IBM OEM Brocade 5100 switch - type 2498-B40.

Native Brocade sfp and compatible works fine at this switch when it was running FabOS v6.4.3

For test only

Vendor: HP-A BROCADE Serial No: UAA416447031382 Speed: 2,4,8_Gbps

 

Problematic ports 15 and 16

Index Port Address Media Speed State Proto
==================================================

15 15 030f00 id N4 Online FC F-Port 21:00:00:24:ff:38:70:c9
16 16 031000 id N4 Online FC F-Port 21:00:00:24:ff:38:70:d4

 

Port 15: id (sw) Vendor: BROCADE Serial No: UALGPL190214401 Speed: 2,4,8_Gbps
Port 16: id (sw) Vendor: BROCADE Serial No: UAA10903000028B Speed: 2,4,8_Gbps

 

fceg3:admin> portcfgshow 15
Area Number: 15
Speed Level: AUTO(HW)
Fill Word(On Active) 0(Idle-Idle)
Fill Word(Current) 0(Idle-Idle)
AL_PA Offset 13: OFF
Trunk Port ON
Long Distance OFF
VC Link Init OFF
Locked L_Port OFF
Locked G_Port ON
Disabled E_Port OFF
Locked E_Port OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode OFF
RSCN Suppressed OFF
Persistent Disable OFF
LOS TOV mode 0(OFF)
NPIV capability ON
QOS Port OFF
Port Auto Disable: OFF
Rate Limit OFF
EX Port OFF
Mirror Port OFF
SIM Port OFF
Credit Recovery ON
F_Port Buffers OFF
E_Port Credits OFF
Fault Delay: 0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit: 126
NPIV FLOGI Logout: OFF
CSCTL mode: OFF
TDZ mode: OFF

 

portlogdumpport   is empty

 

fceg3:admin> portLogShow 15
time task event port cmd args
-------------------------------------------------
Fri Mar 22 09:58:45 2019
09:58:45.592 FCPH seq 3 28 00300000,00000000,000005eb,00020182,00000000
09:58:45.592 PORT Tx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,17a5ffff,14000000
09:58:45.593 PORT Rx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,17a51e89,00000001
09:58:50.298 PORT Rx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,1e87ffff,14000000
09:58:50.298 PORT Tx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,1e8717a6,00000001
09:58:50.298 FCPH read 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,6b000000,00000000,1e8717a6
09:58:50.298 FCPH seq 3 28 22380000,1e8717a6,00000591,0000001c,00000000
09:59:05.597 FCPH write 3 40 00fffffd,00fffffd,00000000,00000000,00000000
09:59:05.597 FCPH seq 3 28 00300000,00000000,000005eb,00020182,00000000
09:59:05.597 PORT Tx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,17a7ffff,14000000
09:59:05.598 PORT Rx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,17a71e8a,00000001
09:59:10.312 PORT Rx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,1e8bffff,14000000
09:59:10.312 PORT Tx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,1e8b17a8,00000001
09:59:10.315 FCPH read 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,6d000000,00000000,1e8b17a8
09:59:10.315 FCPH seq 3 28 22380000,1e8b17a8,00000591,0000001c,00000000
fceg3:admin>

 

Yes, HBA at host is 8.

I have tested sfp witch loopback plug button.

 

All sfps works at different switch (not the same about I talk) but the same model IBM 2498-B40 but under fabos 6.4.3h so thay are hardware healthy, I think.

Best Regards

Leszek Kaptur

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

sorry i doesn't menitoned id, but we need porlogdump when you change speed to 8Gb so there will be stamp what happened and why the spped not negotiate to 8Gb.

 

As i remmember for 8Gb platform you can only use Brocade branded SFPs.

And pelase share output of  sfpshow 15

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi,

Thank you one more. Bad luck - there is no my last entry. I repeat then again.

I have tested the problematic sfp's in another switch Brocade 5300 running FabOS 7.4.2d and switch recognize it properly - as N8.

Then back to this one with sfp problems - 5100 v7.4.2c - the same:  Speed Mismatch / Incompatible SFP. All output from my tests at attachement. What I have noticed: if there is no module at port it shows N8. See attch. If I plugin sfp port change switch to N4. This may evicence that sfp is not comatible but it works at 5300. Any idea? I have exhausted ideas.Do I have to accept this situation?

Please take a look at attachement.

 

fceg3:admin> portlogdump 15
time task event port cmd args
-------------------------------------------------
Mon Mar 25 14:40:45 2019
14:40:45.213 PORT Tx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,29350e2a,00000001
14:40:45.213 FCPH read 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,db000000,00000000,29350e2a
14:40:45.213 FCPH seq 3 28 22380000,29350e2a,00000591,0000001c,00000000
14:41:00.504 FCPH write 3 40 00fffffd,00fffffd,00000000,00000000,00000000
14:41:00.504 FCPH seq 3 28 00300000,00000000,000005eb,00020182,00000000
14:41:00.504 PORT Tx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,0e2bffff,14000000
14:41:00.505 PORT Rx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,0e2b2936,00000001
14:41:05.220 PORT Rx 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,2937ffff,14000000
14:41:05.220 PORT Tx 3 0 c0fffffd,00fffffd,29370e2c,00000001
14:41:05.221 FCPH read 3 40 02fffffd,00fffffd,dd000000,00000000,29370e2c
14:41:05.221 FCPH seq 3 28 22380000,29370e2c,00000591,0000001c,00000000
14:41:09.156 PORT Rx 3 204 02fffc03,00fffc0f,8a02ffff,01000000
14:41:09.156 PORT Tx 3 0 c0fffc0f,00fffc03,8a020e2d,00000001
14:41:09.179 FCPH read 3 204 02fffc03,00fffc0f,2f000000,00000000,8a020e2d
14:41:09.179 FCPH seq 3 cc 20380000,8a020e2d,000005aa,0000001c,00000000
fceg3:admin>
fceg3:admin> sfpshow 15
Port 15 does not use an SFP or is disabled...

 

Best Ragards

Leszek Kaptur

Regular Contributor
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎03-20-2018

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Quick question: Have you also updated the drivers and firmware of the HBAs and upgraded the OS of the storage device?

LK
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-19-2019

Re: After upgrade 8G switch 5100 becomed 4G

Hi

No, I did not change anything on the host side - neither hba's firmwares nor device drives. This switch was allocated  to different fabric (detached, cleared from any configuration, upgraded from 6.4.3 to 7.4 and attached to fabric with two other switches 4g to migrate hosts from 4 to 8g).

Best Regards

Leszek K.

Join the Broadcom Support Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.