Ghost Solution Suite

View Only
  • 1.  Error: could not allocate page table memory

Posted Oct 08, 2014 06:26 AM

Hello my name is Marcus and i just started working at a school as IT technician who uses Symantec ghostcast and i must admit im fairly new to it and have only used it a few times.
    My problem is with the new laptops we are using (Lenovo L440).

For the older laptops (Lenovo L430, Lenovo L420) there have been boot images already made before i started working here and they seem to be working fine but not for the L440.

i use PC DOS and not WinPE since PC DOS were already setup, and do it over the network.

The initial problem was that it did not even get to the Ghost cast menu, i solved this by going in to the autoexec.bat and adding "ghost.exe"  the original file only had "ngctdos.exe"

After that i got: Cannot create a file preservation metadata file at path "."
    I went back in to the autoexec.bat and poked around a bit, and solved the issue by removing "CD \GHOST" and chaged "ghost.exe" to "\ghost\ghost.exe" to make it run.

Now i get to my current problem, i get as far as i can type in Session name and select what disk i want to create image from and just as it starts so tranfering files and it just stops at "Current file: 88 chs_boot.ttf" or sometimes at "Current file: 91 kor_boot.ttf" and gives me the following error message:

Error: could not allocate page table memory
    General failure reading Drive A
    Insert disk with \COMMAND.COM in driva A

Press any key to continue. . .

i've tried to change location of ghost.exe to the root folder and change that in autoexec.bat to match up but that just gave me more problems so right now im stuck with that error message, if there is anyone who could help i will be very greatful!

• 2.  RE: Error: could not allocate page table memory

Posted Oct 08, 2014 07:13 AM

Hi Marcus,