Protection Suite Enterprise Edition

View Only
  • 1.  Installed Agent does not find all devices in subnet

Posted Oct 12, 2020 07:49 PM
    Hello All, 
    I'm very new to this product, so if I'm in the wrong area my apologies. 

We have moved from SEP small business to SES and I'm totally lost as to functionality. I have been on a call with Tech support for an hour, and the only take away is that I have to have one Agent running on a machine that will scan the entire subnet for all devices and report them back. This sucks as we have 12 different subnets, and not all the devices are being found, for example my workstation.
    1. Is there a way to push the new agent to all my workstations and laptops without having to install the discovery agent on all of my subnet DC's.
    2. Why are some devices found and not others?
    3. When trying to push the install to a device that was listed, the install fails with different errors ranging from services not running (which I have confirmed they are) to firewall rules about inbound settings. This is odd because we already had SEP in play, so what is the new configuration that I have to have?
    4. I cant change my name! they got it wrong when (who knows) setup my account. firstname.lastname twice, and I cant change it. I get a 3160 error, and I have been unable to find any documentation on that error, so I'm stuck. 

Thanks in advance!
    Jay

• 2.  RE: Installed Agent does not find all devices in subnet

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Oct 13, 2020 01:00 PM
    It sounds to me like you're referring to the Device Discovery capability in SES. You can find detailed information and instructions on how that works here: https://techdocs.broadcom.com/us/en/symantec-security-software/endpoint-security-and-management/endpoint-security/sescloud/Installing-the-Symantec-Agent-and-enrolling-devices/finding-devices-for-enrollment-v127881118-d4155e6553.html

Answers to your questions: