Idea Details

CA Service Virtualization: HL7 Healthcare Enhancements to "Productize"

Last activity 05-29-2019 05:44 PM
Anon Anon's profile image
02-22-2016 09:54 AM

I am new to both CA Service Virtualization and HL7 request/responses but I have learned quite a bit within the last four months.  I am the Lead Service Virtualization here at CHI and I believe we are closer to getting a solution that we feel should definitely become a part of DevTest.

With the help of a talented CA developer (Ashutosh Satyam) and requirements provided by CHI, we are a step closer to providing a solution for our complex testing requirements.  This custom work includes an HL7 Data Protocol Handler that converts a text HL7 message (bi-directional) to an XML format specific to our business.  It also includes a step in the .vsm model that acts like a “client” and can send one to many responses depending on the type of HL7 message sent. With this custom code, it reads and iterates through a list of responses sending them to a configurable IP/Port address. It includes additional capability of providing a wait time for each response before sending.

I am learning that the “standard” HL7 is deceptive and mapping can be challenging.  I have overcome some of this with the use of the Request Data Manager.  This has helped condense the request and identify the pertinent fields I may need to send back within any given response.  I have found the use of this just a little bit limiting, but have made some suggestions for enhancing this functionality (shameless plug here).

https://communities.ca.com/ideas/235729712