Idea Details

User Extension Points in QuickEdit and Endevor...

Last activity 24 days ago
Eoin OCleirigh's profile image
07-10-2014 03:09 PM

As an Endevor Administrator I'd like to be able to Extend CA's solutions to integrate QuickEdit and/or Endevor into my environment by providing a simple method for me to provide custom actions which could be invoked from within QuickEdit or Endevor selections lists.

In it's simplest form, an unrecognized line command would be passed to a user routine with a name that was constructed based on a standard prefix (e.g. "UsrRtn") + the line command entered - for example entering UX against an element would invoke a command USRRTNUX passing details of the current row via shared pool variables to that command.

The Business Benefit:
Each site could Extend Endevor to provide custom, stite specific actions, that were tightly integrated into Endevor without having to wait for CA to develop and deliver that functionality in the product.  Some potential applications might include, special compile or debug options, integration with 3rd party code editors or review tools, custom deployments ("...deploy this element's executibles to my CICST3 environment"...) etc.

CA or other interested parties could 'share' these custom extensions allowing popular interfaces to be developed once, and deployed many times.

The following mock-up screen shots show how a User Command might be entered and the datails that could be passed...

Dynam.png

A sample routine USRRTNUX might just dump the variables like this;

Dynam-1.png

Comments

12-18-2017 03:02 AM

YES YES YES. That is something that should have been there from the very start. When can we have it ?

12-08-2017 05:12 AM

What is CA waiting for ?   Just GO 4 IT !!!

//kjell

05-28-2016 10:36 AM

Hi SBAshby,