Idea Details

DB 2 on IBM i DDL support

Last activity 19 days ago
Anon Anon's profile image
04-01-2014 05:33 AM

As a Plex developer I want the database to be described with DDL instead of DDS, so that I can make use of the performance gain and benefit from future enhancements that will not be supported by DDS.

I want to simply switch the language from DDS to DDL for Tables and Views. Plex should take care of the Views and also create the necessary Indexes.  The existing RPG IV functions should run unchanged.

There should be option to create an Index from a View, without actually creating the view itself. These Indexes are used for performance optimization.

Comments

12-10-2015 09:26 AM

Apparently, I can see this idea on the feed, but am not authorized to view it...

12-10-2015 02:53 AM

Hi Jorge, you will be waiting a very long time if not indefinitely in my opinion for CA New CA Plex Product Owner - No CA Plex Product Architect . In the meantime you will lose the IBMi platform.

But thank you for the praise as it does make all the sacrifices worth while, with out it, it becomes a monumental waste of time.

12-10-2015 02:47 AM

sorry, George

Indeed you work is excellent...the one to be pinpointed and followed for all of us working on db2 + IBM i. But the case is that I was expecting a presententation from CA at that moment: it seemed a great step from CA, putting hands on work, and facing solutions on Plex modernization for IBM i. At least it was the way I understood the webcast announcement. What a great announce! it would be applied for 7.2? for 8.0?...But the crude reality was it was a non-CA approach, absolutely good, but not a CA Plex decision on future design. No doubt, it is the way you and other people are pushing design, but I continue waiting for thinks as simple as support for varychar fields, or full suport for ILE.

07-07-2015 09:08 AM

VW type SYS