Idea Details

7795 - Consume a web service

Last activity 6 days ago
Simon_Cockayne's profile image
04-07-2011 04:57 AM

Hi,

Another idea from our internal wishlist:

As a 2E developer I want to be able to consume a web service, i.e. to have the model support the implementation of a 2E application that can invoke a web service at runtime.

Cheers,

Simon

Simon Cockayne
CA Technologies
Principal Software Engineer

CA Subject Matter Expert

Comments

05-16-2012 03:35 AM

Hi,<br><br>just to add some details to my original vote from last year, we have had to consume web services and like others have used Scott Klement&#39;s httpapi which is an excellent piece of open source. We have each web service call as an RPG MOD which binds into our RPG PGM (an execute external function).  We did consider a generic function using different stream files but tried to keep things simple as this was all quite new to us..<br><br>The only things I can add to David&#39;s points are that we were using digital certificates and had to go down the route of using a  specific activation group.<br><br>Mark

05-11-2012 12:24 PM