Since CAPC 2.3.1 deleting and later re-adding a data source is not supported anymore.
An appropriate warning pops up when deleting the data source and the admin user does not have the appropriate role anymore by default.
However this function is still required
- when adding the data source for the first time and deleting again due to problems
- during upgrades when temporarily moving the data source to another NPC / CAPC in order to minimize down time
- when CA support may request a deletion of the data source to fix some problems
- temporarily testing of new data sources
Delete and re-add of a data source should be a standard process and has to be possible without loss of data.