Idea Details

Enhance/complete ELEMENT SOURCE LEVEL INFORMATION

Last activity 05-31-2019 01:49 AM
Josef Thaler's profile image
03-31-2015 02:26 AM

As a developer, I need Endevor to provide me with an online summary or query for any stage that tells me when an element and/or change level arrived there (i.e. ADD, UPDATE, MOVE,TRANSFER) uniquely from when the change was created so that I can perform effective post-implementation analysis and post-implementation problem identification/tracking.

Many thanks to @John Dueckman @John.Dueckman for this compact and complete definition of the business need and for your additional help.

The disadvantageous aspects of the current appearance of SOURCE LEVEL INFORMATION have been discussed, commented, analyzed and documented in thread misleading SOURCE LEVEL INFORMATION.

To avoid the disadvantageous aspects of today and to provide a clearer and more complete information to the Endevor-users an additional timestamp in SOURCE LEVEL INFORMATION is suggested.

To illustrate the suggestion based on SOURCE LEVEL INFORMATION in PRINT ELEMENT ... HISTORY (while this information also appears in other contexts like element summary  and so on)

Today's appearance:

Endevor Source-Level-information.old.jpg      

Suggested extention with comments:

Endevor Source-Level-information.new.jpg

Comments:

*1: two timestamps in Source Level Information need a more descriptive heading

*2: Endevor does not have this info from the past. N/A could be seen as a signal to the Endevor-user that source level creation date is (could be) different from the arrival date in this stage and he has to query other sources like smf-reports, package-execution-logs, ccid-queries etc. to get this information.

*3 Endevor updates this timestamp during source-management when it stores this source-level in the new stage.