OPS/MVS

View Only

Creating a rule that includes a wait time before issuing command

DavidJohnson's profile image
DavidJohnson posted Nov 24, 2020 10:02 AM
Hello, 
I am not very good with REXX. I am being asked to create a rule to trigger when a msg PGTS0254E is issues. The request is for the rule to issue two commands when it sees this message and wait 10 seconds between issuing commands. The two commands are f XPCFU200,TCPTRON', then wait 10 seconds, then issue second command F XPCFU200,TCPTROF. Iv'e read that you can not do an opswait in a MSG rule as it can cause performance issues. How do I create rule(s) to accomplish this request? 
Thank you for your help.
SAL COSTANZO's profile image
SAL COSTANZO
You can spawn DYNAMIC TOD rules tor run. 1 to run in 10 seconds and 1 to run in 20 seconds.
DYNAMIC Rules are very helpful to automation and would be beneficial to learn.

You mentioned you are not good with REXX, but once you have the template for a Dynamic TOD RULE, building a REXX EXEC that would accept a DYNRULE NAME, a TIME(in seconds) and a COMMAND STRING, can then called by lots of code to delay commands.  Rules can OI the commands   
For Example:      if your rexx is called AFTERSEC,          OI AFTERSEC MYRULE 10 F XPCFU200,TCPTROF    

Hope that helps get started
Sal
Dave Gorisek's profile image
Dave Gorisek
Based on the Cyberfusion message and commands you are asked to issue, looks as if this is a 'special' request to quickly obtain some internal debugging info to send to support. Thus, a ​quick and dirty rule to fire on the message, and issue the TCPTRON synchronously in the rule, then send out the TCPTROF command 10 seconds later is a simple temp solution. This can be done with the DELAY keyword on the OPSCMD in a server.
)MSG PGTS0254E                                        
)PROC                                                 
/* Issue cmd #1 synchronously in the rule */          
address Oper