Monitor and Server Health Group

View Only
  • 1.  script shell monitoring in altiris

Posted Apr 16, 2012 10:22 AM

hi !!

I'm a beginner user in altiris server management suite. I use  altiris to monitor server but i have problems. In altiris I don't know how to monitor the execution of a shell script store in my linux servers ? can you help me please ?? thanks

• 2.  RE: script shell monitoring in altiris

Posted Apr 20, 2012 08:26 AM
    Hello Stack34, Not sure how you are running the Shell scripts, my suggestions would be to have them centralised and initiated via the SMP console via a custom task which you can then monitor the results of the task via a central report. You could also add some auditing to the script that it will write to a file and monitor will monitor the output in the file. Just some ideas.

• 3.  RE: script shell monitoring in altiris

Posted Apr 20, 2012 11:29 AM

thanks Joseph_carson for your reply. I simply execute the shell scripts in my linux server. I think your first idea can be good but I'm not sure it's possible to monitor the result of a custom task in Monitor solution. How is it possible ?

• 4.  RE: script shell monitoring in altiris

Posted Jun 02, 2012 12:15 PM

Good Evenning

Need to help

I have running a script such as helth check vbscript,But whare showing the status the helth checking.

This Vbscript

Set objComputer = GetObject("WinNT://computername,computer")
    objComputer.Filter = Array("Service")

strServiceName = "blaablaa"

For Each aService In objComputer
    If LCase(strServiceName) = LCase(aService.Name) Then
    Wscript.Echo aService.Name & "=" & aService.Status
    End If
    Next

Please let me me know where show the report.

Thanks

Shiva Yadav

• 5.  RE: script shell monitoring in altiris

Posted Jun 04, 2012 01:01 AM

Hi Shivc,

I'm not 100% sure if I understand correctly.