Brocade Fibre Channel Networking Community

Expand all | Collapse all

ISL Inquiries

• 1.  ISL Inquiries

Posted 30 days ago
    Hi,

I'd like to ask help from gurus in here... we have multiple 6 SAN Switches not interconnected, each 2 Switches are connected to few hosts and a SAN.

We want to have these SAN switches interconnected so that we can have the ability to present SAN to all hosts if necessary.
    Below is our SAN Switches inventory: I'd like to have compatibility matrix with the FOS as well as do we need to have ISL license?

We also have newly acquired Dell Connectrix 6505b for a new SAN, we also want to interconnect this to the existing. I'm new to ISL, I'm just used to do zoning config, so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

HP Storageworks 8/24 SAN switch 6.3.1a
    Fabric license
    Enhanced Group Management license
    8 Gig FC license

HP BROCADE 6505 7.0.1
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 12 port upgrade license

HP BROCADE SLKWRM 300 6.4.2a
    Fabric license
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 16 port upgrade license
    First Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
    8 Gig FC license

HP BROCADE 6510 7.2.0a
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 24 port upgrade license

HP BROCADE SLKWRM HP2 6.3.1c
    Fabric license
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 12 port upgrade license
    8 Gig FC license

HP BROCADE SLKWRM 300 6.4.1b
    Fabric license
    8 Gig FC license

• 2.  RE: ISL Inquiries

Posted 29 days ago
    The 8G switches are either past end of support or will be as of 14 November 2019. Although I recall caveats with licensing around building fabrics with older code, I don't recall the details.

On the 16G switches, no special licensing is required when running on current supported code to ISL them to other switches. Licensing may be required for advanced features such as long distances between switches or trunking.