Brocade Fibre Channel Networking Community

Expand all | Collapse all

New to this and need help

• 1.  New to this and need help

Posted 30 days ago
    I am looking for a guide on how to setup ISL trunking between two Brocade 6510 switches, I cant see to find any docs to help me,

does anyone know a good  step by step as i am new to this!

Many Thanks

• 2.  RE: New to this and need help

Posted 29 days ago
    Hello,

find out Administration guide for your FOS version. There is a lot of information how to configure such setup.

------------------------------
    If my answer fulfilled your question please mark the reply as "Make Best Answer"

Kind Regards

Marian

• 3.  RE: New to this and need help

Posted 29 days ago
    ISLs are discussed in the "Brocade Fabric OS Administration Guide" for the version of FOS that you are running.

Also, there you should make sure that you have an ISL Trunking License. That is documented in the "Brocade Fabric OS Administration Guide" for the version of FOS that you are running.

• 4.  RE: New to this and need help

Posted 29 days ago
    You don't need a trunking license just to create an ISL.

If you actually want to aggregate ports, then yes, you will need a trunking license. The trunking license will come with the Enterprise license.

Sr. Storage Admin

• 5.  RE: New to this and need help

Posted 29 days ago
    Edited by Hortense Stephens 28 days ago

After you disable the zonning configuration on the new switch the active/effective zones woult still remain part of defined zoneset. Once you merge it with the fabric the new switch will receive the effective zonning information from the Fabric, however it will retain the old zonning information as defined configuration, this will not be added to the effective zonning, automatically. Thus you are right that the zonning information remains in the defined zonning on the new switch.