Ethernet Switches Community

Expand all | Collapse all

VLANs on the BCM53242

• 1.  VLANs on the BCM53242

Posted 07-30-2019 02:30 PM
    I am a firmware engineer tasked with managing an embedded BCM53242 via MDIO. We have the MDIO communication link working just fine. My difficulty is that I am very inexperienced in the ways of managing network switches, especially setting up VLANs. I have been studying the datasheet and any online application notes I can find to make sense of the situation, and I am completely overwhelmed to put in mildly. I could really uses some basic help. Do you have any documentation on setting up VLANs written at a basic level? It probably doesn't even need to be 53242 specific, as long as the basic ideas are there.

Barring that, here are some questions I have:
    1. I am guessing that VLAN forwarding ports pass tagged traffic unchanged in both directions, and VLAN un-tag ports tag un-tagged traffic on ingress and un-tag tagged traffic on egress. Is this correct?
    2. How would one correlate a given VLAN Table entry to a given VID?
    3. How would one restrict traffic through a port to only packets tagged with one VID?
    4. How would one allow a port to pass all trafficexcept that tagged with a certain VID? This includes all un-tagged traffic and any tagged traffic not tagged with that certain VID?
    Any help at all you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mark Hammer

• 2.  RE: VLANs on the BCM53242

Posted 08-01-2019 10:34 AM

Hi Mark,

Thanks your question.

Please refer to 53242 datasheet VLAN feature and registers descriptions, and application note "53242-AN300-RDS" for VLAN table programming. Also there is the other chip 5389 application note "5387_5389-PG100-R" for reference about VLAN feature configure. These docs are all in Ethernet Switches Community Library folder.

Please find the comment below in line [r] per your questions: