Clarity

View Only
  • 1.  How to Auto-Start Process for Every Project on a Daily Basis?

Posted Sep 19, 2019 05:43 PM
    Hello All -

Wondering if anyone knows a streamlined approach for automatically executing a process on a daily basis once per day and for every active project in the system?  The process checks if a custom Project attribute, "Days Remaining," is equal to or less than 0.  If true, the process sets the "Status Indicator" OOTB Project attribute value to "Red," and if false, the process completes with no further action.

Currently, I have the Start Option as Project = Update (no specific conditions), however this only triggers the process when a user makes a change on a project (i.e. updates any project object-related element).  However, because sometimes projects are not updated for a day, or few days, this approach will not completely satisfy my organization's requirements.

Any thoughts?  I understand XOG/GEL is an option, however I am not experienced enough to create that on my own, so appreciate any other ideas! :) 

Thanks in advance for your time and effort,
    Matt

• 2.  RE: How to Auto-Start Process for Every Project on a Daily Basis?

Posted Sep 20, 2019 03:30 AM
    There is the execute a process job.
    See if you can create an on demand process which makes your check as your current process and execute it with the job scheduled daily (workdays)

• 3.  RE: How to Auto-Start Process for Every Project on a Daily Basis?

Posted Sep 20, 2019 09:42 AM
    Hello @Deactivated User -
    Thank you for the quick response.  I do not believe your recommended approach would work as the Process I need executed on a daily basis is associated with the Project object, and, the "Execute a Process" Job requires the Process to not be associated with any object.  Is there a workaround for running this Job using a Process associated to the Project object, or, an alternative solution for accomplishing my goal?

Thanks,
    Matt​ ​​