DX Application Performance Management

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

How to display alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation?

• 1.  How to display alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation?

Posted Dec 27, 2010 10:36 AM
    Hi,

Happy Holidays to all. I'm trying to look for a way to display server alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation. Is this possible? Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

• 2.  RE: How to display alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation?

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Dec 28, 2010 12:19 PM
    Please refer to my previous post about this.

Your other options are to use a custom process name or agent name.

-Hiko

• 3.  RE: How to display alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation?

Posted Dec 28, 2010 12:46 PM
    Thanks for reply. Please forgive my ignorance as I'm still pretty new to Wily.

1. What is PS engagement?
    2. Can you explain more on custom process or agent name?

-...RegionA1003 <-- hostname
    :
    -...JBOSS
    :
    +...billingapp01-vm1
    +...billingapp01-vm2
    +...billingapp01-vm3

billingapp01 is the alias.

• 4.  RE: How to display alias name, instead of hostname in Workstation?

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 04, 2011 03:06 PM
    The custom process name in your example would be JBOSS.

Change the following value in your agent profile:

introscope.agent.customProcessName=JBOSS

Replace JBOSS with your new value.