Rally Software

View Only
  • 1.  Computed fields on user stories

Posted Jul 10, 2019 12:42 PM
    Hi all,

I am pretty new to Rally so forgive my ignorance. The questions I have is: is it possible to create a computed field on user stories? For example consider I have a user story with a set of tasks that are classified into several categories (Implementation, Review, DevTesting, Testing) and I want to have a property that will tell me that implementation is complete what all tasks with tag Implementation will be in state Completed. What would it take to implement/configure such functionality? Where do I start?

Best regards,
    Tomek

• 2.  RE: Computed fields on user stories

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jul 11, 2019 07:07 PM
    Hi Tomasz,

Unfortunately there's not a way to have a custom computed field.  That sounds like a great suggestion for our ideas board.  You can go to https://ideas.rallydev.com and submit it there.  If you don't have an account, please submit an email to ac-ideas@ca.com and mention you'd like an account.

• 3.  RE: Computed fields on user stories

Posted Jul 16, 2019 07:59 AM
    Ok, I have account there now. I found this: https://ideas.rallydev.com/ideas/D4266. Answer from CA has this: "Agile Central has the ability to add custom fields, and an API to set them, so it may be already possible to do what you'd like." So my original question should then be restated as:
    1. How do I create custom fields? Do I need any special permissions to create them? If so can they be granted on team level?
    2. Where and how do I write code that updates them. I don't want to write code on my desktop that pull data from Rally, makes some calculations and upload data again. I want the calculations to be instant and preferably available to all users.

• 4.  RE: Computed fields on user stories
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jul 16, 2019 10:25 AM
    Hi Thomasz,

You can learn about custom fields in this page: Manage Custom Fields