Automic Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  How to exclude run for HW/SW maintenance on Automic

Posted Aug 01, 2020 08:35 PM
    Dear Community

I'm a newbie on Automic but a have 14 years experience on Dollar Universe. 

We are upgrading our scheduling solution to Automic and I need a smart way to set Outage Windows on scheduling depending on Context.

For example if I need to stop SAP or SIEBEL for maintenance between two date/time defined i must stop all scheduling in this period only on this kind of execution.

On DU I've create a script that set exclusion date for Uproc/Session on Task, but I don't know how to do it on Automic

If possible I'd like to add a Context property on my Scheduling and set exclusion period depending on context.

Thanks

------------------------------
    Christian Bassi

------------------------------

• 2.  RE: How to exclude run for HW/SW maintenance on Automic
    Best Answer

Posted Aug 02, 2020 12:57 AM
    Edited by Christopher Hackett Aug 06, 2020 06:46 PM
    Hi Christian,

best in Automic is to create 1 or more QUEUE objects, assign it to your Workflows, Jobs, etc. and use the "exception" definition as you can see below: The Queue mechanism will take care that on Sunday between 1500 and 1600 no assigned object will be started. The objects will be held and released after 1600.

• 3.  RE: How to exclude run for HW/SW maintenance on Automic

Posted Aug 02, 2020 12:52 PM

Thanks Peter,

There  is a way to cancel all object that are held by exclusion to avoid that at the end of outage all start without control ? I don't need to recover all launch heldedduring SW/HW maintenance

Thanks

Gruppo_Hera_Insieme

-

• 4.  RE: How to exclude run for HW/SW maintenance on Automic

Posted Aug 03, 2020 03:46 AM
    Hi Christian,

there are 2 options I can think of:

a) cancel all waiting objects before the Queue automatically "opens the door". But if you miss this point in time the objects waiting will be started